NOVEMBER 19, 1976

Office of the White House Press Secretary

## THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced the appointment of five persons as members of the Distinguished Civilian Service Awards Board. They are:

Carla Anderson Hills, of Los Angeles, California, Secretary of the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Douglas P. Bennett, of Bethesda, Maryland, Director, Presidential Personnel Office, The White House.

Robert E. Hampton, of Bethesda, Maryland, Chairman of the Civil Service Commission.

Paul H. O'Neill, of Fairfax, Virginia, Deputy Director, Office of Management and Budget.

Elliot Richardson, of Boston, Massachusetts, Secretary of the Department of Commerce.

The President also designated Carla Anderson Hills to serve as Chairman of the Board.

The Board consists of five members appointed by the President from the Federal civilian service.

The purpose of the Board is to recommend to the President persons to receive the President's Award for Distinguished Federal Civilian Service. The award is made for exceptionally meritorious or outstanding civilian service performed in connection with or in relation to their official employment.

###