Digitized from Box 31 of the White House Press Releases at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SEPTEMBER 27, 1976

Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

The President has announced his intention to nominate two persons to be members of the National Council on Educational Research for three year terms. They are:

John E. Corbally, of Urbana, Illinois, President, University of Illinois. This is a reappointment.

Jewel Lafontant, of Chicago, Illinois, partner, Stradford, Lafontant, Fisher and Malkin. Mr. Lafontant succeeds Edward E. Booher, whose term has expired.

The Council was established by the Education Amendments of 1972, and consists of 15 members appointed by the President, together with the Director of the National Institute of Education and such other ex-officio members who are officers of the United States as the President may designate.

The purpose of the Council is to establish policies for the National Institute of Education and advise the Assistant Secretary for Education and the Director of the National Institute for Education on development of the Institute's programs.

#