FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced the appointmentment of four persons as members of the Board of Trustees of the American Folklife Center. These are new positions established by Public Law 94-201 of January 2, 1976. They are:

Mitchell P. Kobelinski, of Chicago, Illinois, Administrator of the Small Business Administration. This is for a term of two years.

Michael P. Balzano, Jr., of Arlington, Virginia, Director of ACTION Agency. This is for a term of four years.

Morris Thompson, of Douglas, Alaska, Commissioner of Indian Affairs. This is for a term of four years.

Gary Everhardt, of McLean, Virginia, Director, National Park Service. This is for a term of six years.

The Board of Trustees consists of seventeen members. In addition to the four members appointed by the President, four are appointed by the President pro tempore of the Senate, four are appointed by the Speaker of the House. The remaining members are: Librarian of Congress, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts, Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities and Director of the American Folklife Center.

The Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by the members of the Board of Trustees.

. #