Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum



www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov

Library: 1000 Beal Ave., Ann Arbor, MI 48109 Museum: 303 Pearl Street, NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504 (734) 205-0555 fax (734) 205-0571 (616) 254-0400 fax (616) 254-0386

## Victor McFarland Wins 2012 Gerald R. Ford Scholar Award in Honor of Robert M. Teeter

The Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library is proud to announce that Victor McFarland has been chosen as the 2012 winner of the Gerald R. Ford Scholar Award in Honor of Robert M. Teeter. Mr. McFarland is a doctoral student in History at Yale University and is completing his doctoral dissertation: *The Oil Crisis of the 1970s: An International History*. His work explores the economic and political consequences of changes in the oil industry and rising oil prices during this time using sources from both the United States and the Middle East.

This annual award of \$5,000 is given to a doctoral student conducting dissertation research and writing on an aspect of the United States political process during the latter part of the 20<sup>th</sup> century. It was established in 2005 to honor the life and work of Robert Teeter. Mr. Teeter spent over thirty years as a leader in public opinion analysis and campaign strategy, including the 1976 campaign of President Gerald R. Ford. The majority of written materials from Mr. Teeter's career are part of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library collection. This award has been made possible by the generous support of the Teeter family and friends, and his colleagues on the United Parcel Service Board of Directors.

The application deadline for next year's award is April 10, 2013. For more information, please visit the Ford Library's website at: <u>http://www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov/library/fsa.asp</u> or contact the Library at (734) 205-0555 or at <u>ford.library@nara.gov</u>.

## **Previous Recipients:**

2011 – Brent Cebul, University of Virginia, Freedom From: Small Government, Big Government Policies, and the Rise of Blue Collar Republicans, 1970-1994.

2010 – Josh Mound, University of Michigan, Inflated Hopes, Taxing Times: The Politics of Economic Crisis in the Long 1970s.

2009 – Candace Sobers, University of Toronto, *The Crisis of Decolonization, the Challenge of Intervention: Revolutionary Angola, 1968-1976.* 

2008 – Adam M. Saunders, University of Oxford, Power and the Welfare State: The Political Economy of American and British Unemployment Insurance Reform, 1964-1986.

2007 - Vanessa P. Walker, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Ambivalent Allies: Advocates, Diplomats, and the Struggle for Human Rights in Latin America.

2006 - Benjamin C. Waterhouse, Harvard University, Corporate Leaders and the Pro-Business Agenda in Modern American Politics.

2005 - Erika Franklin Fowler, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Party Images, Public Opinion, and Political Change.