COLLECTION FINDING AID



VIRGINIA H. KNAUER FILES, (1967-68) 1969-77

Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs,
Office of Public Liaison, and
Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs,
Department of Health, Education, and Welfare



SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains materials relating to Virginia Knauer’s work as Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs under the Nixon and Ford administrations. The materials document consumer programs, budget development, and implementation of the President’s Consumer Representation Plan, as well as related speeches, press releases and publications.

QUANTITY
 34.1 linear feet (approximately 62,200 pages)

DONOR
 Gerald R. Ford (1977-NLF-22)

ACCESS
 Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
 Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Hannah Brookhart, Jeremy Schmidt, Mark Armstrong, and Eryn Killian, February 2014
[S/BIN/Finding Aids and Guides/Knauer, Virginia.doc]

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Virginia H. Knauer


March 28, 1915 - Born in Philadelphia, PA

1937 - B.A. in Fine Arts, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA Some graduate work completed in painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Florence, Italy.

1960-1968 - Councilman-at-Large, Philadelphia City Council

1968 - Director, Pennsylvania’s Bureau of Consumer Protection

1969-1977 - Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs, and Chairman of the President’s Committee on Consumer Interests, later this committee was replaced by the Office of Consumer Affairs, Department of Health, Education and Welfare and Knauer served as its director.

1977 - Founder, Virginia Knauer & Associates

1981-1983 - Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs, White House Office of Public Liaison

1981- 1989 - Director, Office of Consumer Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services

1983-1989 - Special Advisor to the President for Consumer Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services

1988-? - Consultant, Haney & Knauer, Washington

October 16, 2011 - Died at age 96

INTRODUCTION

Virginia H. Knauer joined the Nixon administration staff in April 1969 as Chairman of the President’s Committee on Consumer Interests (PCCI) and Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs. President Nixon named Knauer Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA) when it replaced PCCI in 1971. Knauer remained head of the OCA after it was absorbed by the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW) in 1973. After President Nixon’s resignation, President Ford retained Knauer as Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs within the new Office of Public Liaison (OPL) under William J. Baroody, Jr., Assistant to the President for Public Liaison.

The Office of Consumer Affairs coordinated the consumer activities of the Federal government in cooperation with state agencies, industry representatives, and consumer organizations. It also promoted consumer education and recommended legislation based on consumer interests. As head of this office, Knauer oversaw administrative matters, appropriations, and various consumer related programs such as the Consumer Information Center. As Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs, Knauer developed consumer policy and communicated with consumers on behalf of the Administration.

The materials in this collection are unlike those from other units of OPL because they primarily relate to Knauer’s work as head of the OCA outside of the OPL. The collection includes substantial material on the conception and development of the President’s Consumer Representation Plans as well as a series of budget materials relating to Congressional appropriations for the OCA. This collection also contains records pertaining to the OCA’s deputy director position, held by John S. Byington, from 1974-1976.

Knauer was a member of the Energy Resources Council and her interest in the energy industry is well represented in this collection. Materials documenting the OCA’s consumer energy conservation initiative can be found in the “General File” series and the “Speeches” series contains several speeches on the topic of energy and fuel conservation.

Files related to the Consumer Advisory Council are also part of the Knauer Files. This Council was created to provide the Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs with advice and recommendations from consumer experts in a variety of areas.

Knauer served as a U.S. representative on the Consumer Policy Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). She was also Vice Chairman for the Committee. Records pertaining to her work with the OECD are included in the “Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)” series.

Related Materials (February 2014)
Related materials include the files of Dawn Bennett-Alexander, (Domestic Council) and Wayne Valis (Office of Public Liaison).

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Consumer Representation Plan File, 1975‑76.  (Boxes A1‑A21, 9.2 linear feet)
Under the direction of the President, the Office of Consumer Affairs collaborated with 17 federal agencies to develop consumer representation plans. These plans contained a description of current consumer-related activities and new policies to increase consumer involvement in decision making and program development. This series contains materials related to the development, publication, and implementation of the President’s Consumer Representation Plan. Following an initial discussion of the plan’s purpose and structure, each agency submitted its consumer representation plan proposal for publication. To promote public discussion, the Office of Consumer Affairs held a series of consumer conferences and hearings across the country. The President’s initiative was also subject to a Congressional Oversight hearing. The transcripts for these events are included in the White House Regional Conferences subseries and the Hearings subseries. The feedback received during the 90-day comment period comprises the Public Comment subseries, which includes general and agency specific comments. In the final phase of the plan, the agencies submitted working drafts for evaluation and the final editions were published. Materials relating to the logistics of publication and implementation are included in the Final Consumer Representation Plans subseries.

Arranged chronologically according to the Consumer Representation Plan process; files within subseries are arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Consumer Advisory Council File, 1970‑77. (Boxes B1‑B9, 3.7 linear feet)
This series consists of annual reports, correspondence, council meeting minutes and agenda, member files primarily pertaining to personnel and administrative matters, a subject file of background material related to issues dealt with by the council primarily related to insurance, and materials concerning to White House meetings.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) File, 1970‑75 (1976).  (Boxes C1‑C4, 1.8 linear feet)
This series contains memoranda, correspondence, and reports that relate to the OECD’s roles in international consumer advocacy and shaping domestic policy for consumers. The “Correspondence” subseries contains correspondence between OECD staff and other government departments such as Department of State and the Department of Commerce, as well as international members of the OECD. The “Numbered Documents” subseries contains documents about the OECD Committee on Consumer Policy’s meetings and press releases, often referring to product testing, product safety, and marketing practices. The subseries of the Working Party, which was an international consortium of government agencies for consumer advocacy, contains documents relating specifically to the Working Party meetings and contain information about international efforts for better product labeling, product safety, product testing, and mandatory industry practices.

Arranged alphabetically by subject; files within subseries are arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Budget File, (1967-68) 1969‑76. (Boxes D1‑D15, 6.3 linear feet)
This series contains appropriations estimates, working papers, charts, and correspondence related to budget development for the Office of Consumer Affairs. The related records from the OCA’s predecessor, the Presidential Committee on Consumer Affairs, are included at the beginning of this series. It also contains OCA submissions to the House and Senate Appropriation Committees such as testimony and other items requested for the record. The published hearings and budgets are included in the “Legislative Action” subseries.

Arranged chronologically by fiscal year and thereunder chronologically by stage within budget development.

View container list for this series

General File, 1973‑76.  (Boxes E1‑E2, 0.7 linear feet)
This series contains reports and correspondence relating to a variety of industries, often with a focus on product labeling and safety standards. The largest component of this series is the energy conservation subseries. This subseries is related to the 1973-74 campaign to increase consumer awareness of household energy conservation, and includes meeting notes, memoranda, and several drafts of scripts for energy conservation TV spots.

Arranged alphabetically by subject; files within the “Energy Conservation” subseries are arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Deputy Director File, 1974‑76. (Boxes F1‑F3, 1.2 linear feet)
This series contains material primarily related to Office of Consumer Affairs administrative operations, and to a lesser degree consumer policy development. The documents pertain to personnel, travel, and organizational structure.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Speech File, 1969‑76.  (Boxes G1‑G21, 8.9 linear feet)
This series contains speeches delivered by Knauer and others working within her office at the Committee on Consumer Interests and the Office of Consumer Affairs. The speeches were delivered to trade shows, councils, and conventions, annual meetings, grassroots political organizations, schools, or served as testimony before congressional hearings and committees. The speeches addressed consumer concerns such as food pricing and labeling, product safety, the automotive industry, and the construction industry, among others. All speeches were delivered by Knauer herself unless otherwise noted in the folder title.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Press Releases, 1969‑76. (Boxes H1‑H3, 1.1 linear feet)
This series contains press releases issued by President Nixon’s Committee on Consumer Interests, and later the Office of Consumer Affairs, and includes drafts and supplementary material such as letters from businesses and politicians.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Publications, 1971‑77.  (Boxes I1‑I3, 1.2 linear feet)
This series includes Consumer News newsletters from April 1971-January 1977 and Virginia Knauer’s “Dear Consumer” editorials from 1972-1976, as well as other publications related to consumer education.

Arranged alphabetically by title.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box A1 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Consumer Representation Discussion
    -Consumer Representation Study (1)
    -Consumer Representation Study (2)
    -Guidelines for Development of Consumer Representation Plans (1)
    -Guidelines for Development of Consumer Representation Plans (2)
    -Legislative Proposals
  • Consumer Representation Plan Proposals
    -General
    - Agency Submissions (1)
    - Agency Submissions (2)

Box A2 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Consumer Representation Plan Proposals
    -General [Continued]
    - Agency Submissions (3)
    - Agency Submissions (4)
    - Agency Submissions (5)
    - Agency Submissions (6)
    - Meetings with Agency Representatives (1)
    - Meetings with Agency Representatives (2)
    - Publication of Plans in Federal Registrar
    -Agency
    - Regulatory Commissions

Box A3 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Consumer Representation Plan Proposals
    -Agency [Continued]
    - Department of Agriculture
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior
    - Department of Justice
    - Department of Labor (1)

Box A4 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Consumer Representation Plan Proposals
    -Agency [Continued]
    - Department of Labor (2)
    - Department of State
    - Department of Transportation (1)
    - Department of Transportation (2)
    - Department of Treasury
    - Energy Research and Development Administration
    - Environmental Protection Agency
    - Federal Energy Administration
    - General Services Administration

Box A5 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Consumer Representation Plan Proposals
    -Agency [Continued]
    - Small Business Administration
    - Veterans Administration
    • -General
    - Briefing Materials (1)
    - Briefing Materials (2)
    - Briefing Materials (3)
    - Planning (1)
    - Planning (2)

Box A6 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • White House Regional Conferences
    -General [Continued]
    - Planning (3)
    - Planning (4)
    -City
    - Atlanta, Georgia
    - Boston, Massachusetts (1)
    - Boston, Massachusetts (2)
    - Chicago, Illinois
    - Denver, Colorado
    - Houston, Texas (1)

Box A7 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • White House Regional Conferences
    -City [Continued]
    - Houston, Texas (2)
    - Houston, Texas (3)
    - Houston, Texas (4)
    - Kansas City, Missouri
    - Los Angeles, California (1)
    - Los Angeles, California (2)
    - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    - San Francisco, California (1)

Box A8 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • White House Regional Conferences
    -City [Continued]
    - San Francisco, California (2)
    - Washington, D.C.
    -Agency Workshops
    - Department of Agriculture
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior
    - Department of Justice

Box A9 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • White House Regional Conferences
    -Agency Workshops [Continued]
    - Department of Labor
    - Department of State
    - Department of Transportation
    - Department of Treasury
    - Energy Research and Development Administration
    - Environmental Protection Agency
    - Federal Energy Administration
    - General Services Administration

Box A10 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • White House Regional Conferences
    -Agency Workshops [Continued]
    - Small Business Administration
    - Veterans Administration
  • Hearings
    -General
    - Agency Newsletters and Press Releases
    - House Oversight Hearings on the Proposed Presidential Consumer Representation Plans (1)
    - House Oversight Hearings on the Proposed Presidential Consumer Representation Plans (2)
    - House Oversight Hearings on the Proposed Presidential Consumer Representation Plans (3)
    -Agency
    - Department of Agriculture
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior

Box A11 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Hearings
    -Agency [Continued]
    - Department of Justice
    - Department of Labor
    - Department of State
    - Department of Transportation
    - Energy Research and Development Administration
    - Environmental Protection Agency
    - Federal Energy Administration
    - General Services Administration
    - Small Business Administration
    - Veterans Administration
  • Public Comment
    -General
    - Agency Transfer Memoranda
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (1)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (2)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (3)

Box A12 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Public Comment
    -General [Continued]
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (4)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (5)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (6)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (7)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (8)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (9)

Box A13 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Public Comment
    -General [Continued]
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (10)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (11)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (12)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (13)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (14)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (15)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (16)

Box A14 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Public Comment
    -General [Continued]
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (17)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (18)
    - Feedback and Public Comment Forms (19)
    -Agency
    - Department of Agriculture (1)
    - Department of Agriculture (2)
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior
    - Department of Justice
    - Department of Transportation

Box A15 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Public Comment
    -Agency [Continued]
    - Department of Treasury
    - Energy Research and Development Administration
    - Environmental Protection Agency
    - Small Business Administration
  • Final Consumer Representation Plan Development
    -General
    - Discussion (1)
    - Discussion (2)
    - Final Drafts (1)
    - Final Drafts (2)

Box A16 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Final Consumer Representation Plan Development
    -General [Continued]
    - Final Drafts (3)
    - Final Drafts (4)
    - May 1976 Submissions (1)
    - May 1976 Submissions (2)
    -Agency Drafts
    - Department of Agriculture
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense

Box A17 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Final Consumer Representation Plan Development
    -Agency Drafts [Continued]
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare (1)
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare (2)
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior
    - Department of Justice (1)
    - Department of Justice (2)
    - Department of Labor
    - Department of State

Box A18 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Final Consumer Representation Plan Development
    - Agency Drafts [Continued]
    - Department of Transportation (1)
    - Department of Transportation (2)
    - Energy Research and Development Administration (1)
    - Energy Research and Development Administration (2)
    - Energy Research and Development Administration (3)
    - Environmental Protection Agency (1)
    - Environmental Protection Agency (2)
    - Federal Energy Administration
    - General Services Administration

Box A19 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Final Consumer Representation Plan Development
    - Agency Drafts [Continued]
    - Small Business Administration
    - Veterans Administration
  • Plan Evaluation
    - General
    - Cost Analysis
    - Draft Review (1)
    - Draft Review (2)
    - Draft Review (3)
    - Regional Briefings
    - Agency File
    - Department of Agriculture
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare

Box A20 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Plan Evaluation
    - Agency File [Continued]
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior
    - Department of Justice
    - Department of Labor
    - Department of State
    - Department of Transportation
    - Department of Treasury
    - Energy Research and Development Administration
    - Environmental Protection Agency
    - Federal Energy Administration
    - General Services Administration
    - Small Business Administration
    - Veterans Administration
  • Final Consumer Representation Plans
    - General
    - Announcements (1)
    - Announcements (2)
    - Implementation (1)

Box A21 - Consumer Representation Plan File

  • Final Consumer Representation Plans
    - General [Continued]
    - Implementation (2)
    - Publication
    - Official Agency Submissions
    - Department of Agriculture
    - Department of Commerce
    - Department of Defense
    - Department of Health Education and Welfare
    - Department of Housing and Urban Development
    - Department of Interior
    - Department of Justice
    - Department of Labor
    - Department of State
    - Department of Transportation
    - Department of Treasury
    - Energy Research and Development Administration
    - Environmental Protection Official Agency
    - Federal Energy Administration
    - General Services Administration
    - Small Business Administration

Box B1 - Consumer Advisory Council File.

  • Activities, 1970-73
  • Annual Reports, 1973-76
  • Annual Review of CAC, 1973 - Supporting Materials (1)
  • Annual Review of CAC, 1973 - Supporting Materials (2)
  • Charters, 1973-75
  • Correspondence:
    - Log, June 1970-February 1974
    - June-October 1970
    - November-December 1970
    - January-February 1971
    - March-June 1971
    - July-August 1971
    - September 1971
    - October 1971

Box B2 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Correspondence: [Continued]
    - November-December 1971
    - January-March 1972
    - April-May 1972
    - June-August 1972
    - October-December 1972
    - January-March 1973
    - April-May 1973
    - June-September 1973
    - October 1973-July 1974
    - August 1974-August 1976
    - Response to Congressman Rosenthal's Request for Information about CAC (1)
    - Response to Congressman Rosenthal's Request for Information about CAC (2)
    - Miscellaneous (1)

Box B3 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Correspondence: [Continued]
    - Miscellaneous (2)
    - Miscellaneous (3)
    - Miscellaneous (4)
  • Meeting Reports and Notes
    - 1970
    - March-June 1971
    - September 1971-January 1972
    - May-December 1972
    - April 1973-February 1974
    - May 1974-December 1975
    - May-November 1976
  • Member Files
    - Member Names and Addresses, 1969-77
    - Alayon, Adolfo G.

Box B4 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Member Files [Continued]
    - Busquets, Carmen P.
    - Clayman, Jacob
    - Cutler, Dr. Virginia F.
    - Donahue, Wilma Thompson
    - Frazier, Howard T.
    - Graham, Linda L.
    - Grant, Richard H.
    - Haney, Camille A.
    - Harge, Solomon
    - Howe, Eunice P. (1)
    - Howe, Eunice P. (2)

Box B5 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Member Files [Continued]
    - Howe, Eunice P. (3)
    - Johnson, George A.
    - Kehoe, John T.
    - Nelson, Gary K.
    - Rathe, Janet J. (1)
    - Rathe, Janet J. (2)
    - Rathe, Janet J. (3)
    - Richardson, Stewart Lee Jr. (1)

Box B6 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Member Files [Continued]
    - Richardson, Stewart Lee Jr. (2)
    - Richardson, Stewart Lee Jr. (3)
    - Scott, William J.
    - Smith, Joseph F.
    - Sowards, Mary Elizabeth
    - Wright, Dr. Robert Lee
  • President's Consumer Message to Congress, 1972 - Suggested Topics from CAC
  • Press Clippings, 1970-72
  • Press Contacts, August 1970
  • Subcommittee and Issue Papers
    - Consumer Protection in Puerto Rico
    - Food Advisory Committee Query

Box B7 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Subcommittee and Issue Papers [Continued]
    - HUD Mortgage Studies
    - Information at the Point of Purchase Committee - Food Labeling
    - Health (1)
    - Health (2)
    - Health (3)
    - Insurance (1)
    - Insurance (2)
    - Insurance (3)
    - Insurance (4)
    - Insurance (5)
    - Low Income Consumers
    - Milk Pricing (1)
    - Milk Pricing (2)

Box B8 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • Subcommittee and Issue Papers [Continued]
    - National Business Council for Consumer Affairs
    - National Consumer Information Resource Center Proposal
    - No-Fault Auto Insurance (1)
    - No-Fault Auto Insurance (2)
    - Prescription Drugs, Advertising and Pricing
    - Pyramid Marketing Companies
    - Trading Stamps
    - Truth in Savings Bill
  • White House Consumer Consultations
    - Airline Deregulation
    - Consumer Leaders Meeting 9/21/71
    - Consumer Leaders Meeting 10/12/71, "Phase II"
    - Cost of Living Council (1)

Box B9 - Consumer Advisory Council File

  • White House Consumer Consultations [Continued]
    - Cost of Living Council (2)
    - Fair Trade Repeal Signing Ceremony
    - Meeting Between Vice President and National Consumer Leaders
    - National Credit Union Association 9/30/71
    - Pre-State of the Union Consultation
    - "Tuesday at the White House" Meeting on Consumer Education
    - "Tuesday at the White House" Meeting on Nutrition

Box C1 - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) File

  • Annual Reports, 1972-1975
  • Consumer Credit Background (1)
  • Consumer Credit Background (2)
  • Correspondence, 1970
  • Correspondence, 1971 (1)
  • Correspondence, 1971 (2)
  • Correspondence, 1972

Box C2 - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) File

  • Correspondence, 1973
  • Correspondence, 1974
  • Informal Notifications
  • Numbered Documents of CCP: 70 Series
  • Numbered Documents of CCP: 71 Series
  • Numbered Documents of CCP: 72 Series
  • Numbered Documents of CCP: 73 Series
  • Numbered Documents of CCP: 74 Series
  • Reports to OECD Consumer Policy Committee

Box C3 - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) File

  • Staff Travel, OCA, 1970-1973
  • U.S. Consumer Information Center Report to OECD, June 1974
  • Working Party 1 (Comparative Safety)
  • Working Party 2 (Labeling), 1970-72
  • Working Party 2 (Labeling), 1973-75
  • Working Party 3 (Product Safety): Correspondence, 1970-72
  • Working Party 3 (Product Safety): Correspondence, 1973-75

Box C4 - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) File

  • Working Party 3 (Product Safety): Documents, 1972-74 (1)
  • Working Party 3 (Product Safety): Documents, 1972-74 (2)
  • Working Party 3 (Product Safety): Documents, 1975
  • Working Party 4 (Credit), December 1976
  • Working Party 5 (Mandatory Practices)
  • Working Party Reports

Box D1 - Budget File

  • President's Committee on Consumer Interests Executive Director's File, 1967-1969 (1)
  • President's Committee on Consumer Interests Executive Director's File, 1967-1969 (2)
  • FY 1969
  • FY 1970
    - Budget Development
    - House Appropriations Committee
    - Senate Appropriations Committee
    - Legislative Action
  • FY 1971
    - Budget Development (1)
    - Budget Development (2)
    - Inventory of Federal Consumer Activities (1)

Box D2 - Budget File

  • FY 1971 [Continued]
    - Inventory of Federal Consumer Activities (2)
    - General Correspondence
    - Submissions
    - House Appropriations Committee (1)
    - House Appropriations Committee (2)
    - Senate Appropriations Committee (1)
    - Senate Appropriations Committee (2)
    - Legislative Action
  • FY 1972
    - Budget Development
    - House Appropriations Committee
    - Senate Appropriations Committee

Box D3 - Budget File

  • FY 1972 [Continued]
    - Supplementary Appropriations
  • FY 1973
    - Budget Development (1)
    - Budget Development (2)
    - Budget Development (3)
    - Budget Development (4)
    - Budget Development (5)
    - Budget Development (6)

Box D4 - Budget File

  • FY 1973 [Continued]
    - Budget Development (7)
    - Budget Development (8)
    - Budget Development (9)
    - Budget Development (10)
    - Budget Development (11)
    - Budget Development (12)
    - Budget Development (13)

Box D5 - Budget File

  • FY 1973 [Continued]
    - Budget Development (14)
    - General Correspondence
    - Submissions
    - House Appropriations Committee (1)
    - House Appropriations Committee (2)
    - Senate Appropriations Committee (1)
    - Senate Appropriations Committee (2)

Box D6 - Budget File

  • FY 1973 [Continued]
    - Legislative Action (1)
    - Legislative Action (2)
    - Supplemental Appropriations (1)
    - Supplemental Appropriations (2)
    - Evaluation
  • FY 1974
    - Budget Development (1)
    - Budget Development (2)

Box D7 - Budget File

  • FY 1974 [Continued]
    - Budget Development (3)
    - Budget Development (4)
    - Budget Development (5)
    - Budget Development (6)
    - Budget Development (7)
    - Budget Development (8)
    - Budget Development (9)

Box D8 - Budget File

  • FY 1974 [Continued]
    - Budget Development (10)
    - Budget Development (11)
    - Budget Development (12)
    - Budget Development (13)
    - Budget Development (14)
    - General Correspondence
    - Submissions (1)
    - Submissions (2)

Box D9 - Budget File

  • FY 1974 [Continued]
    - Submissions (3)
    - Submissions (4)
    - House Appropriations Committee (1)
    - House Appropriations Committee (2)
    - House Appropriations Committee (3)
    - House Appropriations Committee (4)
    - House Appropriations Committee (5)

Box D10 - Budget File

  • FY 1974 [Continued]
    - House Appropriations Committee (6)
    - House Appropriations Committee (7)
    - Legislative Action
    - Evaluation
  • FY 1975
    - Budget Development (1)
    - Budget Development (2)
    - Budget Development (3)
    - Budget Development (4)

Box D11 - Budget File

  • FY 1975 [Continued]
    - Budget Development (5)
    - Budget Development (6)
    - General Correspondence (1)
    - General Correspondence (2)
    - Submissions
    - Appropriations (1)
    - Appropriations (2)
    - House Appropriations Committee (1)
    - House Appropriations Committee (2)

Box D12 - Budget File

  • FY 1975 [Continued]
    - House Appropriations Committee (3)
    - House Appropriations Committee (4)
    - House Appropriations Committee (5)
    - William Simon Letter
    - Senate Appropriations Committee (1)
    - Senate Appropriations Committee (2)
    - Legislative Action (1)
    - Legislative Action (2)

Box D13 - Budget File

  • FY 1975 [Continued]
    - Legislative Action (3)
    - Evaluation
    - United States Budget
  • FY 1976
    - Budget Development (1)
    - Budget Development (2)
    - Budget Development (3)
    - Budget Development (4)

Box D14 - Budget File

  • FY 1976 [Continued]
    - Budget Development (5)
    - Budget Development (6)
    - Budget Development (7)
    - Budget Development (8)
    - General Correspondence
    - Submissions (1)
    - Submissions (2)
    - House Appropriations Committee (1)
    - House Appropriations Committee (2)

Box D15 - Budget File

  • FY 1976 [Continued]
    - Senate Appropriations Committee
    - Congressional Action
  • FY 1977

Box E1 - General File

  • Aging
  • Air Conditioning
  • Briefing Book - National Conference for State, County and City Consumer Affairs Offices (1)
  • Briefing Book - National Conference for State, County and City Consumer Affairs Offices (2)
  • Briefing Book - National Conference for State, County and City Consumer Affairs Offices (3)
  • Energy Conservation
    - General (1)
    - General (2)
    - General (3)
    - Undated - Economic Stabilization Program - Petroleum Industry - Refinery Balance Incentive Program
    - Undated - Energy Conservation Fact Sheets
    - Undated - Scripts and Notes on TV Spots
    - Undated - Miscellaneous

Box E2 - General File

  • Energy Conservation [Continued]
    - 1973 May-August
    - 1973 September-October
    - 1973 November
    - 1973 December 4-13
    - 1973 December 14
    - 1973 December 17-18
    - 1973 December 20-28
    - 1974 January 7-14
    - 1974 January 17-23
    - 1974 January 24-31
    - 1974 February 1-5
    - 1974 February 6-22
    - 1974 March
  • Engineers
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Footwear Industries
  • Home Furnishings
  • Hotels
  • Life Insurance
  • Medicine
  • Movers
  • Pest Control
  • Telephones

Box F1 - Deputy Director File

  • Auto Mechanics Certification
  • Budgets
  • Chronological File
    - August 1976
    - September 1976
    - October 1976
    - November 1976
    - December 1976
  • Congressional Liaison Forms from OCA Staff
  • Consumer Representation Conferences
  • DHEW Presentations to the Secretary of HEW
  • Energy Resources Council
  • Federal Register (Tuesday, September 28, 1976)
  • Insurance Consumer Advisory Council (ICAP)White House Press Conference, 10/5/1976
  • Legislative Proposals 1976
  • Memoranda
  • OCA Program Management Planning and Evaluation (1)

Box F2 - Deputy Director File

  • OCA Program Management Planning and Evaluation (2)
  • Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
  • Policy Planning
  • Prescription Pricing
  • Presidential Schedule Proposals
  • Presidential Initiative for Consumer Representation in Government Agencies (1)
  • Presidential Initiative for Consumer Representation in Government Agencies (2)
  • Product Recall
  • Public Affairs and Programs
  • Seidman, L. William (1)

Box F3 - Deputy Director File

  • Seidman, L. William (2)
  • Staffing and Personnel (1)
  • Staffing and Personnel (2)
  • Staffing and Personnel (3)
  • Structure and Reorganization
  • Urban Property and Reinsurance Program (HUD) Advisory Board
  • Wage and Price Stability Committee
  • White House Commissions, Nominations to

Box G1 - Speech File

  • Press Conference of Mrs. Virginia Knauer and Ron Zeigler, 4/9/1969
  • President’s Remarks at Swearing-in Ceremony of Mrs. Virginia Knauer, 4/19/1969
  • Virginia Knauer's Address at Yonkers Public Library for National Library Week, 4/23/1969
  • Testimony before National Commission on Product Safety Hearings, 5/1/1969
  • Remarks Before Pennsylvania Home Economics Association, 5/2/1969
  • Remarks Before Consumer Assembly of Greater New York, 5/8/1969
  • Remarks Before Cuna International, Inc. 5/9/1969
  • Remarks Before Virginia Federation of Republican Women, 5/9/1969
  • Remarks Before Friends of the March of Dimes, 5/14/1969
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee on Financial Institutions, Senate Banking and Currency Committee, Hearings on the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 5/19/1969
  • "The Federal Obligation to Consumers", before Annual Meeting of the Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers, 5/22/1969
  • Remarks Before the 55th Annual Conference of the Better Business Bureaus International, 6/3/1969
  • Testimony Before the Special Consumer Inquiry of the Special Studies Subcommittee, House Committee on Government Operations, 6/4/1969. Accompanied by Frank McLaughlin and Betty Bay
  • Remarks Before Annual Home Furnishings Conference of the National Retail Merchants Association, 6/5/1969
  • Remarks Before the First Friday Political Luncheon of the Republican Women of Pennsylvania, 6/6/1969
  • Keynote Before The University of Michigan 22nd Annual Conference on Aging, 6/9/1969
  • Testimony Before the Subcommittee on Consumer Interests of the Elderly, U.S. Senate Committee on Aging, 6/9/1969
  • Remarks Before Annual Dinner of the National Association of Bank Women, 6/10/1969
  • Remarks Before the 54th Annual Conference on Weights and Measures, 6/11/1969
  • Remarks Before the Greenbrier Executive Conference of the Grocery Manufacturers of America, Inc., 6/16/1969
  • Testimony before U.S. Department of Agriculture Hearing on Proposed Regulation to Limit Fat Content of Cooked Sausage, 6/19/1969
  • Remarks at the Luncheon Session of the National Legal Aid and Defender Association Seminar on Consumer Practices--Abuses and Remedies, 6/20/1969
  • Remarks Before National Association of Attorneys General, 6/24/1969
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee on the Consumer Senate Committee on Commerce Hearing on S.1092, The Wholesome Fish and Fishery Products Act, with Robert L. Meade, 7/14/1969
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee on Executive Reorganization, Senate Committee on Government Operations hearing on S.860 and S. 2045, A Bill to Establish A Department of Consumer Affairs, 7/15/1969
  • Remarks Before The Consumer Relations Committee, American Retail Federation, 7/21/1969
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee on Improvements in Judicial Machinery, Senate Committee on the Judiciary Hearing on S. 1980, The Class Act Jurisdiction Act, 7/28/1969. With Robert L. Meade
  • Remarks before the Northeast Association of Marketing Officials, 7/30/1969
  • Remarks Before Vocational Homemaking Teachers Association of Texas, 7/31/1969
  • Statement for Glamour Magazine, 8/1/1969
  • Testimony Before the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on the Departments of Labor and Health, Education, and Welfare, and Related Agencies, 8/6/1969. With Elizabeth Hanford
  • Remarks Before the National Podiatric Convention, 8/10/1969
  • Remarks Before the Great Lakes Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners, 8/11/1969
  • Address At a Meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Paperboard Packaging Council, 8/21/1969
  • Remarks Before the Consumer Federation of America, 8/23/1969

Box G2 - Speech File

  • Address at 1969 Educators' Conference of the American Marketing Association, 8/26/1969
  • Improve Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of the World, 8/29/1969
  • "How to Lead a Revolution," remarks before Wharton Graduate School Student Body, 9/3/1969
  • Remarks before U.S. Chamber of Commerce, 9/4/1969
  • Remarks Before the National Conference on Medical Devices, 9/6/1969
  • Remarks by Elizabeth Hanford before the Southgate State Bank and Trust Public Service Seminar on Management, 9/9/1969
  • Remarks Before American Public Power Association's Advanced Management Seminar for Electric Utility Executives, 9/9/ 1969
  • Remarks Before the Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, and New York State Ice Cream Manufacturers Association, 9/10/1969
  • Remarks by Elizabeth Hanford before the President's Committee on Consumer Interests before the National Foundation for Consumer Credit, 9/15/1969
  • Remarks before the Pennsylvania Retailers Association, 9/15/1969
  • Address at Northwest Electric Light and Power Association, 9/16/1969
  • Remarks Before the New York State Food Merchants Association, 9/18/1969
  • Remarks Before the Virginia Municipal League Convention, 9/23/1969
  • Address at a meeting of the American Society of Association Executives, 9/24/1969
  • Remarks for the Dedication of the American Gas Association Laboratories, 9/25/1969
  • Address at a meeting of the National Federation of Republican Women, 9/27/1969
  • Remarks Before the Kentucky Federation of Women's Clubs, 9/29/1969
  • Remarks before the 1969 Newspaper Food Editor's Conference, 9/30/1969
  • Remarks before the 64th Annual Meeting of American Meat Institute, 9/30/1969
  • Testimony before the National Commission on Product Safety Hearings, 10/1/1969
  • "Does the Retailer Relate?" Remarks before the 1969 Chain Store Public Relations Conference, 10/2/1969
  • Remarks by Elizabeth Hanford before the Seventh Constitutional Convention of the AFL-CIO National Auxiliaries, 10/4/1969
  • Remarks Before the East Central Area Conference of American Women in Radio and Television, 10/4/1969

Box G3 - Speech File

  • Testimony before the Subcommittee on Special Studies House Committee on
  • Government Operations Hearing on Meat Prices, 10/8/1969
  • Address Before the National Association of Manufacturers Marketing Committee Meeting, 10/9/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Kentucky Commission on Women, 10/10/1969
  • "Advertising: Triumph or Tragedy?" Before Sioux Falls Advertising Club, 10/10/1969
  • Testimony before the Federal Trade Commission hearing on Gasoline Octane Rating Disclosure, 10/14/1969
  • "Advertising Tomorrow-Heaven or Hades?" Remarks before the New York Advertising Club Fall Session, 10/15/1969
  • Remarks before the National Association of Retail Druggists, 10/16/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Business Prospects Conference, 10/16/1969
  • Remarks Before the Arizona Consumers' Council, 10/18/1969
  • Remarks Before the Sun Valley Chapter of the Arizona Credit Union League, 10/18/1969
  • Aerosol Speech Not Delivered, National Council of Negro Women, 10/20/1969
  • Remarks Before the Second Annual Aerosol Marketing Conference, 10/21/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the 38th Annual Convention of the National Association of Mutual Insurance Agents, 10/22/1969
  • Remarks Before the Department of Advertising, University of Illinois, 10/22/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Mass Merchandising Research Foundation, 10/29/1969
  • Address Before the Carpet and Rug Institute, 10/30/1969
  • Remarks by Doris Sasser before the National Home Appliance Conference, 10/20/1969
  • Remarks Before the Pennsylvania Association of Professional Drycleaners, 10/31/1969
  • Remarks Before the Women's College Council, 11/3/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Soroptimist Club of Washington, DC, 11/5/1969
  • Remarks Before the School Health Section of American Public Health Association, 11/11/1969
  • Charles Cavagnaro's Remarks before the Connecticut Consumers Association, Inc. 11/14/1969
  • Remarks Before the Seminar Jointly Sponsored by Consumers Council, Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and Association of Massachusetts Consumers, INC, 11/15/1969
  • Remarks Before the Eighth Annual Women of Achievement Luncheon of the Staten Island Advance, 11/19/1969

Box G4 - Speech File

  • Robert L. Meade's Testimony, with Betty Bay, Before the Subcommittee on Postal Operations, House Committee on Post Office and Civil Service, 11/19/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Women's Division of the Community Service Society, 11/20/1969
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Fifty-First Annual Meeting of the American National Standards Institute, 11/21/1969
  • Remarks Before the Stouffer Foods' Symposium, "The New Era of Foods," 11/24/1969
  • Remarks Before the Second Annual Consumer Day Program of the Louisiana Consumers League, 12/6/1969
  • Robert L. Meade's Testimony, with Betty Bay, before the Subcommittee on Financial Institutions, Senate Committee on Banking and Currency, 12/7/1969
  • "Some Predictions for the '70's", remarks before the 60th Annual Meeting of The Association of National Advertisers, 12/8/1969
  • Remarks Before the Food Group, 12/10/1969
  • Remarks Before the Thirteenth Annual Joint Educational Conference of the Food and Drug Administration and the Food and Drug Law Institute, 12/11/1969
  • Remarks Before the Philadelphia Chapter of the National Association of Accountants, 12/13/1969
  • Testimony Before the Subcommittee for Consumers, Senate Committee on Commerce Hearing on s. 2246, s. 3092, S. 3201, Consumer Protection Legislation, 12/16/1969
  • Remarks Before the Philadelphia Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America Incorporated, 12/17/1969
  • Remarks Before the Philadelphia Chapter of Sigma Delta Chi, 12/18/1969
  • Remarks Before the Ohio Consumers Association, 1/8/1970
  • Remarks Before the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, Inc. 1/8/1970
  • "The Age of the Elephants," Remarks Before the Valley Green Young Republicans, 1/9/1970
  • Testimony before the Federal Trade Commission Hearing on Care Labeling of Textile Products, 1/14/1970
  • Remarks before the Consumer Assembly '70, 1/15/1970
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee for Consumers, Senate Committee on Commerce, Hearing on S. 3074, Consumer Products Guaranty Act, 1/20/1970
  • "Selling Nutrition," Remarks before the National Canners Association, 1/20/1974
  • Remarks Before the Government Information Group, 1/21/1970
  • Testimony before the Federal Trade Commission Hearing on Proposed Trade Regulation Rule Relating to Retail Food Store Advertising and Marketing Practices, 1/21/1970
  • Remarks Before Elizabeth Hanford before the Annual Convention of The Soap and Detergent Association, 1/29/1970
  • "Advertising as Consumer Information" and "Consumer Information Through Television and Radio," Remarks before the Congress on Consumer Food Information in West Berlin, 2/6/1970
  • Elizabeth Hanford's remarks before the National Association of Secondary School Principals, 2/7/1970
  • Remarks Before the Forty-Seventh Annual Agricultural Outlook Conference, 2/16/1970

Box G5 - Speech File

  • Testimony before the Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, on HR 14931 and HR 14832, 2/17/1970
  • "Examining Myths and Images," Remarks before the Geneva College College Chapel, 2/17/1970
  • Remarks Before the Young Women's Christian Association of Metropolitan Denver, 2/18/1970
  • Remarks before the Rural Urban Luncheon Meeting, 2/23/1970
  • Remarks Before the Society of American Value Engineers, 2/25/1970
  • "The Fourth Estate and its Consumers", Remarks Before the 104th Convention of the Minnesota Newspaper Association, 2/27/1970
  • Remarks Before the Second Annual Legislative Workshop of B'Nai B'Rith Women, 3/3/1970
  • Remarks Before the D-13 Textile Materials Committee and the New York District of the American Society for Testing and Materials, 3/4/1970
  • Testimony Before the Consumer Subcommittee Senate Committee on Commerce on S. 3286, Consumer Product Testing Act, 3/5/1970
  • Remarks Before the Briefing Conference on Consumer Interests Sponsored by the Federal Bar Association and the Foundation of the Federal Bar Association in Cooperation with the Bureau of National Affairs,
  • Inc. 3/9/1970
  • Remarks before the National Institute of Dry-cleaning, 3/10/1970
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee for Consumers of the Senate Committee on Commerce on S. 3074, 3/11/1970
  • Remarks before the National Planning Association, 3/13/1970
  • Remarks before the Consumer Conference, 3/16/1970
  • Testimony before the Subcommittee for Consumers of the Senate Committee on Fair Packaging and Labeling Act, 3/23/1970
  • Remarks before the National Industrial Conference Board's Consumer Conference, 3/24/1970
  • Remarks before the Joint Meeting of Lehigh Valley Service Clubs, 3/30/1970
  • Remarks before the Fifth Joint Meeting of The Clinical Society and Commissioned Officers Association of the U.S. Public Health Service, 4/1/1970
  • Remarks before the 1970 Meat Packers and Processors Seminar, Sponsored by the Pennsylvania Meat Packers Association, 4/6/1970
  • Remarks before the Alabama Farm Bureau Women's Leadership Seminar, 4/7/1970
  • "Survival, Ecology, and Consumerism," Remarks before the 16th Annual Conference of American Council on Consumer Interests, 4/10/1970
  • Remarks before the Seventieth Anniversary Dinner of Consumers League of New Jersey, 4/14/1970
  • Remarks before the National Capitol Area Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration, 4/15/1970
  • Remarks before the National Retail Merchants Association, 37th Annual Credit Management Conference, 4/17/1970

Box G6 - Speech File

  • "The Consumer Controversy," before the Quad-Cities Sales Executives Sales Rally, 4/22/1970
  • Remarks before the Sixty-Second Annual Convention of the Southern Gas Association, 4/28/1970
  • Remarks before the Tenth Annual Meeting of the Maryland Consumers Association, Incorporated, 4/30/1970
  • Remarks before the Third Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Consumer Council, 5/5/1970
  • Remarks before the Biscuit and Cracker Industry's Annual Association Meeting, 5/18/1970
  • Remarks before the Franklin Institute, 5/20/1970
  • "Toward Aquarius," Remarks before Commencement Ceremonies and Russell Sage College, 5/29/1970
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Annual Convention of the North Carolina Merchants Association, 6/8/1970
  • Remarks before the Pennsylvania College of Podiatric Medicine Commencement, 6/24/1970
  • Remarks before the Plenary Session of the International Organization of Consumers Unions Conference, 7/2/1970
  • Remarks before the American Bankers Association Advisory Council on Consumer Affairs, 7/27/1970
  • Remarks before the Women's Luncheon of the American Institute of Cooperation, 8/3/1970
  • Remarks before the American Trial Lawyers Association, 8/4/1970
  • Remarks before the American Society of Association Executives, 8/24/1970
  • Remarks before the International Tape Association, Inc. 8/26/1970
  • Remarks before the Dallas Times Herald Women's Forum, 9/9/1970
  • "The Consumer and the Conglomerate," before the 1970 Convention of the Federal Bar Association, 9/17/1970
  • Introductory Remarks before the State Convention Banquet of the Kansas Federation of Republican Women, 9/18/1970
  • Remarks before the Canadian Federation of Sales Finance Companies and the American Industrial Bankers Association, 9/24/1970
  • Remarks before the Pennsylvania Knights of Pythias Grand Chancelor Installation, 9/26/1970

Box G7 - Speech File

  • Remarks before the Defense Credit Union Council Conference, 9/29/1970
  • "The Corporate Consumer" Remarks before the 52nd Annual Meeting of the Illinois State Chamber of Commerce, 10/2/1970
  • "Institutional Reform," Remarks before the Consumer Bankers Association's Fiftieth Annual Convention, 10/6/1970
  • Remarks before National Secretaries Association (International) Northeast District Conference, 10/10/1970
  • Remarks before the Metric Study Conference-Consumer Affairs, The National Bureau of Standards, 10/12/1970
  • "The Five Censors," Remarks Before a Luncheon Meeting of the Advertising Club of Metropolitan Washington, Inc.
  • Remarks before Home Economists in Business and their Bosses, 10/13/1970
  • "The Baking Industry, The Government and the Consumer," Remarks before the National Convention of the American Bakers Association, 10/14/1970
  • Remarks before the Governor's Food and Agriculture Exhibition, 10/16/1970
  • Remarks before the Business Council, 10/16/1970
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Texas Finance Institute, 10/20/1970
  • Remarks before the Annual Luncheon of the Individual Insurance Forum of the Health Insurance Association of America, 10/27/1970
  • Remarks before the 1970 International Poultry Industry Exposition at the Cincinnati Convention and Exposition Center, 10/29/1970
  • Remarks before the National Convention of the Kappa Delta Epsilon Sorority, 11/7/1970
  • Remarks before the Governor's Conference on The Family Food Dollar, 12/1/1970
  • Remarks before the 42nd Annual Meeting of the Farmland Industries, Inc., 12/2/1970
  • Remarks before the 1971 Annual Reliability Symposium of the American Society for Quality Control, 1/12/1971
  • Remarks before the Poor Richard Club's Benjamin Franklin Day Ceremonies, 1/16/1971
  • "At the Crossroads," Remarks before the Thirteenth Annual American Advertising Federation's Government Affairs Conference, 2/1/1971
  • Remarks Before the Executive Committee of the Credit Union National Association, Inc., 2/2/1971

Box G8 - Speech File

  • Remarks before Civic Organizations of Athens, Georgia, 2/8/1971
  • Untitled Remarks (Quality Control) by Elizabeth Hanford, c. February 1971
  • Remarks before the American Textile Machinery Association's Thirty-eighth Annual Meeting, "Capital Caucus," 2/16/1971
  • "Public Relations and Consumerism," Remarks before the New York Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America, 2/17/1971
  • "The Consumer's Stake in the Future of Energy," Remarks before the Public Utility Buyers' Group of the National Association of Purchasing Managers, 3/9/1971
  • Remarks Before the Grand Rapids Better Business Bureau, 3/24/1971
  • "Public Relations and Consumer Credibility," Remarks before the Twenty-Third Annual Virginia Public Relations Conference, 3/25/1971
  • Remarks Before the Seventy-Fifth Anniversary of the Young Women's Christian Association, 3/30/1971
  • "Safety--A Top Priority," Remarks Before the Commonwealth Club of Virginia, 4/2/1971
  • "Your Credit with the Consumer," Remarks Before the National Installment Credit Conference of the American Banker's Association, 4/7/1971
  • "Listening to the Consumer," Remarks Before the 7th Annual PSU-PGE Marketing Conference, 4/8/1971
  • "Protecting Our Food Against the Danger of Pollution-the Reaction to this Problem in the USA," Remarks before the Fifth International Aida Symposium of 1971, 4/19/1971
  • Remarks Before the Annual Convention of the National Appliance and Radio-TV Dealers Association, 4/21/1971
  • Chicago Press Conference, 4/21/1971
  • Remarks Before the Annual Meeting of The American Collegiate Retailing Association, 4/22/1971
  • "The Progress of the Consumer Movement," Remarks Before the 72nd Annual Convention Banquet of the Maryland Federation of Women's Clubs, Inc., 4/26/1971
  • Remarks Before the 29th Session of the Annual Meeting of the Pacific Egg and Poultry Association, 4/29/1971
  • Remarks Before the Annual Meeting of the American Business Press, 5/11/1971
  • Remarks Before the First International Tape Seminar, 5/13/1971
  • "The Lost Art of Communication," Remarks Before the Commencement Exercises of the Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science, 5/22/1971

Box G9 - Speech File

  • "Onward to Athens!" Remarks Before the Graduation Ceremonies of The Allentown College of St. Francis de Sales, 5/23/1971
  • "Tomorrow's Marketing World," Remarks Before the 21st Annual International Conference of the Planning Executives Institute, 5/25/1971
  • Remarks Before the National Office of Products Association/The Penn-Mar-Va Travelers Club, 6/14/1971
  • Remarks before the National Conference on the 25th Anniversary of the Lanham Act, 6/17/1971
  • Remarks by Elizabeth Hanford before the Boating Industry Association's Summer Symposium on Consumerism, 6/18/1971
  • Remarks Before the 65th Annual Meeting of the National Association of Attorneys General, 6/21/1971
  • Remarks Before the Fifth Meeting of the Education Commission of the States, 7/9/1971
  • Remarks Before the Convention of the Council on Occupational Licensing, 7/15/1971
  • "Consumer Justice: A Retailer's Responsibility" Remarks Before the 72nd Annual National Retail Hardware Association Congress, 7/20/1971
  • "Consumers Look at No-Fault:" Remarks Before the Texas Association of Insurance Agents, 7/23/1971
  • "What the Consumer Expects of an Electric Utility:" Joseph C. Dawson's Remarks Before the Power Use Section Meeting of Tennessee Valley Public Power Association, 8/10/1971
  • "Consumer Affairs as Seen from My Desk:" Remarks Before the International Federation of University Women, 8/12/1971
  • Protecting the Consumer in the '70's:" Remarks Before the Governor's Conference on Consumer Protection, 8/26/1971
  • Remarks Before the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, 9/2/1971
  • Remarks Before the Homemaker's Luncheon Meeting, 9/14/1971
  • Remarks Before the Grocery Manufacturers of America, 9/16/1971
  • Remarks Before the Consumer Education Council on World Trade, 9/17/1971
  • Remarks by Dorothy Burkhardt before the Shreveport-Bossier First Consumer Day Forum, 9/22/1971
  • Remarks Before the Pennsylvania Council on Republican Women, 9/27/1971
  • Remarks Before Wives of the Supreme Council of the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction, 9/28/1971
  • Remarks Before the National Association of Service Managers, 10/4/1971
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Salisbury Branch of the American Association of University Women, 10/7/1971
  • Remarks Before the Kentucky Consumer Conference, 10/7/1971

Box G10 - Speech File

  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the North Carolina State Division of American Association of University Women, 10/9/1971
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Virginia Food Dealers Association, 10/16/1971
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Pittsford Women's Republican Club, 10/19/1971
  • Remarks Before the Garden City Republican Committee, 10/21/1971
  • Ezra Kohn's Remarks at Food Stability and Open Dating Conference, Rutgers University, 10/21/1971
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Opening Session of the Jamaica Consumers' Week, 10/25/1971
  • "Consumer Protection--The Government's Role," Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Consumer Education Meeting, 10/30/1971
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Raleigh Sales and Marketing Executives Area, 11/1/1971
  • Remarks before the Joint National Conference of the Adult Education Association of the United States and the National Association of Public and Continuing Adult Education, 11/8/1971
  • Remarks before the Charlotte Chapter of the National Association of Accountants, 11/9/1971
  • Statement to the Technical Conference on the Proposed Regulation for Uniform Tire Quality Grading, 11/12/1971
  • Remarks Before the 1971 Area III Conference of the American Association of Retired Persons and The National Retired Teachers Association, 11/12/1971
  • Remarks Before the Rhode Island Federation of Republican Women's Biennial Convention, 11/15/1971
  • Notes for Department of Transportation Remarks, 11/16/1971
  • Remarks Before the Packaging Education Foundation, Inc., Annual Dinner, 11/17/1971
  • Statement By Virginia Knauer Regarding President's New Economic Policy, 11/17/1971
  • Dorothy Burkhardt's Remarks Before the Vienna Republican Women's Club, 11/17/1971
  • Remarks Before the American Nurses' Association, Inc., 11/22/1971
  • "Faces in the Mirror," Remarks Before the White House Conference on Aging, 11/30/1971
  • "Why the New Economic Policy was Needed," December 1971
  • Remarks at the Dedication of the Louis Kapelski Learning Center of PMC Colleges, 12/6/1971
  • William N. Walker's Remarks Before the Illinois Department of Agriculture's Illinois Food Show, 12/8/1971
  • Remarks in Europe, 12/13/1971

Box G11 - Speech File

  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Range Beef Cow Symposium II On Production and Colorado-Wyoming Nutrition Conference, 12/15/1971
  • Remarks Before the New York Couture Group Luncheon Sponsored by Montgomery Ward, 1/7/1972
  • Remarks Before the Breakfast Meeting of the National Home Furnishing Association Merchants and Manufacturers Club of the Merchandise Mart, 1/10/1972
  • Remarks Before the United Jaycees Metro Chapter Conference, 1/14/1972
  • "Bullmoose is Dying," Remarks Before the 15th Annual Saint Mary's College Executive's Symposium, 2/3/1972
  • "Anticipating Social Change," Remarks Before the White House Conference on the Industrial World Ahead," 2/8/1972
  • "Consumer Protection--My Job and Yours," Remarks Before the South Carolina Conference in the Status of Women, 2/12/1972
  • Remarks before the Pennsylvania Newspaper Publishers' Association, 2/25/1972
  • Remarks Before the Federal Executive Board Consumer Conference, 2/28/1972
  • Remarks Before the Advertising Club of Los Angeles, 3/1/1972
  • Remarks Before the Consumer Education Conference, 3/3/1972
  • "Coping with the Future," Remarks Before the Comstock Club of Sacramento, 3/3/1972
  • "Consumerism: Causes and Affects," Remarks Before the American Association of University Women, Fort Lauderdale Area, 3/10/1972
  • Remarks Before the 1972 Southeastern District Meeting of the American Business Women's Association, 3/11/1972
  • Remarks Before the President's Council Meeting of the Carpet and Rug Institute, 3/13/1972
  • Remarks Before the North East Builders Exposition and Conference, 3/18/1972
  • "Coping with the Future," Remarks before the Wisconsin Attorney General's Conference on Consumerism, 3/21/1972
  • Remarks Before the Annual Meeting of the Navy Federal Credit Union, 3/29/1972

Box G12 - Speech File

  • "The Future Consumer," Remarks Before the Luncheon Meeting of the 1972 American Marketing Association International Conference, 4/5/1972
  • Remarks Before the 18th National Republican Women's Conference, 4/7/1972
  • Remarks Before the 47th Annual Meeting of the American Dry Milk Institute, 4/21/1972
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the Regional Convention of the Northeast Central Region of the American Association of University Women, 4/21/1972
  • Remarks Before the Annual District Conference of the Rotary International, 4/22/1972
  • "Label Manufacturers and the Consumer," Remarks Before the Label Manufacturers National Association, Inc., 4/24/1972
  • Remarks Before the Betty Crocker Search for the American Homemaker of Tomorrow, 4/26/1972
  • "Causes and Effects," Remarks before the Young Women's Christian Association of Buffalo and Erie County, 5/2/1972
  • Remarks Before the Auburn Memorial Hospital Annual Auxiliary Luncheon, 5/3/1972
  • "Status Report of the Consumer," Remarks Before the 1972 Assembly of the Council of Better Business Bureau, Inc., 5/23/1972
  • "Direct Selling and the Consumer," Remarks Before the First World Congress of Direct Selling Companies, 5/24/1972
  • Remarks Before the Fourth General Session of the 40th Annual EEI Convention, 6/7/1972
  • Remarks Before the Fourteenth Annual Pacific Coast Builders Conference, Inc., 6/8/1972
  • "The Consumer's Voice," Remarks Before the 81st Annual Convention of the General Federation of Women's Clubs, 6/9/1972
  • Statement on Insurance Reform, National Association of Insurance Commissioners Annual Meeting, 6/12/1972
  • Remarks Before the Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity Convention, 6/17/1972
  • "Creating the Bridge," Remarks Before the Second Annual Appliance Suppliers Exhibit and Conference, 6/19/1972
  • Remarks Before the Annual Convention of the National Association of Counties, 6/26/1972
  • "A Consumer Report from the White House," Remarks Before the 60th International Consumer Credit Conference, 6/26/1972
  • "You and Your Dollar," Remarks Before the Phase II and You Conference Co-Sponsored by the Greater Dayton Jaycees and The Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce, 6/28/1972
  • Remarks Before the Bi-Weekly Seminar Series of the 1972 Wharton Public Policy Fellowship Program, 7/20/1972
  • Remarks Before the Annual Conference of the National Association of Federal Credit Unions, 7/21/1972

Box G13 - Speech File

  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the 1972 Senior Citizens Conference, 8/7/1972
  • Remarks Before the Second Annual Consumer Education Conference, 8/31/1972
  • Remarks Before the Seventieth Annual Meeting of the American Automobile Association, 9/12/1972
  • "Consumerism and What it Means to You" Remarks Before the Consumer Education Forum Sponsored by the Marin Republican Council, 9/17/1972
  • Remarks Before the National Association of Chain Drug Stores, Inc., 9/21/1972
  • Remarks Before the Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, 9/22/1972
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association's Public Relations Section, 9/25/1972
  • Remarks Before the Fifty-Second Annual Convention of the National Tire Dealers And Retreaders Association, 10/2/1972
  • Remarks Before the Family Health Awards for Nutritional Advertising Luncheon, 10/10/1972
  • "The Problems of Imbalance," Remarks Before the East Central Area Conference of American Women in Radio and Television, 10/14/1972
  • Remarks Before the Women in Graphic Arts Luncheon, 1/16/1973
  • Remarks Before the Congress of Career Women Leaders, 2/9/1973
  • Remarks Before the Annual Seminar of The International Tape Association, 2/13/1973
  • Remarks Before the Graduation Banquet of the Presidential Classroom for Young Americans, 2/23/1973
  • Remarks Before the Pottsdown Rotary Club, 2/28/1973
  • Remarks Before the Southeastern Council on Family Relations, 3/5/1973
  • Remarks Before the National Home Improvement Council, Inc.'s Second Annual Remodelers Convention, 3/9/1973
  • Testimony Before the Federal Trade Commission on Proposed Trade Regulation Rule Concerning Preservation of Consumers' Claims and Defenses, 3/13/1973
  • "A Realistic National Energy Policy: Where Do We Go From Here?" Remarks Before the Second National Energy Forum, 3/20/1973
  • Remarks At The University of Puerto Rico, 3/23/1973
  • Remarks Before the HEW Employees Federal Credit Union, 3/28/1973
  • Remarks Before the 57th Annual Convention of the Federation of Jewish Women's Organizations of Maryland, 3/29/1973
  • Remarks Before the Western Regional Charge-Card Conference of the American Bankers Association, 4/2/1973
  • Remarks Before the Arizona Section of The Society of Automotive Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Spring Seminar, 4/3/1973

Box G14 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters, 4/10/1973
  • Joseph C. Dawson's Remarks Before the Annual Business Conference of the Maryland-District of Columbia Utilities Association, 4/13/1973
  • Remarks Before the American Council on Consumer Interests, 4/13/1973
  • "The Cosmetic Industry Response to Consumer Needs," Remarks Before the Annual Symposium of the Society of American Perfumers, 4/18/1973
  • "The Fight Against Inflation - Can We Win?" Remarks Before the Central Bucks Chamber of Commerce, 4/23/1973
  • Remarks Before the Texas Beef Conference, 4/27/1973
  • Remarks Before the Associated Credit Bureaus, 5/9/1973
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Commencement Address Before the Sacred Heart College, 5/12/1973
  • Remarks Before the Carpet and Rug Institute, 5/16/1973
  • "Energy: Problems and Solutions," Remarks Before the Annual Distribution Conference of the American Gas Association, 5/17/1973
  • "The Consumer's Voice," Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks before the First Annual Meeting of the Association of Industrial Metallizers, Coaters and Laminators, 5/19/1973
  • Notes for Remarks Before the Board Chairmen, Federal Executive Board, Washington, DC
  • Remarks Before the School of Nursing, Hospital of the Medical College of Pennsylvania, 6/1/1973
  • Remarks Before the Consumer Education Workshop, 6/2/1973
  • Press Conference on Life Insurance Costs, 6/4/1973
  • Elizabeth Hanford's Remarks Before the Home Builder's Association of Richmond, 6/6/1973
  • Remarks Before the Women of Achievement Luncheon, 6/6/1973
  • Commencement Address Before the California State University, Fresno
  • Remarks at the Dedication of the American Consumer Center, 6/7/1973
  • "The Long Distance Runner," Remarks Before the Class of 1973 Nazareth Academy High School, 6/10/1973
  • Remarks Before the Women's Committee of the Philadelphia Flag Association, 6/11/1973
  • Remarks Before the First Annual Convention of the Opticians Association of America Association Business Meeting, 6/12/1973
  • "The Return of the Engineer," Remarks Before the 24th Annual Appliance Technical Conference, 6/19/1973
  • Notes for Remarks Before the HEW Secretary's Advisory Committee, 6/21/1973
  • Remarks Before the Product Safety Day Session of the American Society of Safety Engineers Professional Development Conference, 6/27/1973
  • Remarks Before the National Hairdressers and Cosmetologists Association, 7/17/1973
  • Statement at a Press Conference of the International Tape Association, 7/18/1973
  • Statement Before a Press Conference on Automobile Complaint Centers, 7/20/1973

Box G15 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the Florists' Transworld Delivery Association, 8/13/1973
  • Remarks Before the Federal Executive Board Consumer Conference, 8/15/1973
  • Statement at the Furniture Complaints Press Conference, 8/17/1973
  • Remarks before the Annual Meeting of the American Society of Chartered Life Underwriters, 9/7/1973
  • Remarks Before the Association of Interior Decor Specialists, Inc., 9/13/1973
  • Remarks Before the SSA Forum on Contemporary Social Issues, 9/20/1973
  • Remarks Before the State Seminar, Pennsylvania Federation of Business and Professional Women, 9/21/1973
  • Remarks Before the Annual Corporate Conference of Allstate Insurance Company, 9/25/1973
  • Remarks Before the National Federation of Republican Women Biennial Convention, 9/28/1973
  • Remarks Before the Tennessee Retail Merchants Association 17th Annual Convention, 10/5/1973
  • "The Mail Order Ripoff," Remarks Before the Annual Conference of the Direct Mail Advertising Association, Inc., 10/16/1973
  • "Consumerism and Industry," Remarks Before the Paperboard Packaging Council Fall Meeting, 10/17/1973
  • Remarks Before the Cosmopolitan Club of Philadelphia, 10/19/1973
  • Remarks Before the Savannah Business and Professional Women's Club, 10/25/1973
  • "Moving Forward for the Consumer," Remarks Before the Bekins Company Systemwide Convention, 11/7/1973
  • Remarks Before the Junior League of Jacksonville, 11/8/1973
  • Remarks Before a Press Conference, 11/10/1973
  • Remarks Before the Consumer Conference, 11/10/1973
  • Remarks Before the 39th Annual Meeting of the California Credit Union League, 11/16/1973
  • Remarks Before a Press Conference, 11/26/1973
  • Remarks Before the National 4-H Congress, 11/26/1973
  • Remarks Before a National Safety-belt Usage Conference, 11/28/1973
  • "Lodging the Consumer," Remarks Before the American Hotel & Motel Association, 12/4/1973
  • Remarks Before the National Symposium on the Consumer Movement, 12/10/1973
  • Statement at a Press Conference Announcing the Food, Nutrition and Health Advertising Campaign, 12/12/1973
  • Remarks Before the Financial Women's Association of New York, 12/12/1973
  • Remarks before the Second Consumer Conference of the National Consumer Information Center, 1/10/1974

Box G16 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the National Association of Home Builders Annual Convention, 1/22/1974
  • Remarks Before the Alessandroni Lodge, Sons of Italy, 1/23/1974
  • Remarks Before the Men's Fashion Association, 2/7/1974
  • Remarks Before the Dallas Communications Seminar, 2/13/1974
  • Remarks Before the Federal Executive Board Women's Program, 2/13/1974
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Health, Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare, 2/20/1974
  • Remarks Before the Fourth Annual Seminar of the International Tape Association, 2/27/1974
  • Remarks Before the Philadelphia Communications Seminar, 3/7/1974
  • "The Consumer Looks at Auto Dealers," Remarks Before the 41st Annual Convention of the Ohio Automobile Dealers Association, 3/12/1974
  • "The State of the Consumer," Remarks Before the National Press Club, 3/19/1974
  • Remarks Before the Young Bankers Conference of the South Carolina Bankers Association, 3/22/1974
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee for Consumers of the Senate Commerce Committee and the Subcommittee on the Representation of Citizens' Interests of the Senate Judiciary Committee, Consumer Complaint
    Mechanisms, 3/27/1974
  • Speech as Back Up For Hammer Luncheon, 4/4/1974
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Interior and Related Agencies of the House Committee on Appropriations; Preservation of Historic Properties, 4/8/1974
  • Remarks Before the Brith Sholom Women for their "Woman of the Year Award" 4/24/1974
  • "Communicating in a Period of Anxiety," Joe Dawson's Remarks Before the National Beef Workshop sponsored by the National Livestock and Meat Board, 4/25/1974
  • Remarks Before the Retail Furniture Association of the Southwest, 5/7/1974
  • Remarks Before the New Jersey Federation of Republican Women, Inc., 5/8/1974
  • John Byington's Remarks Before the Consumer Affairs Week, 6/14/1974
  • Remarks Before the American Water Works Association, 6/18/1974
  • "New Consumerism," Remarks Before the National Conference of State, County, City and Local Consumer Officials, 6/ 19/1974
  • Remarks Before a Committee-Wide Luncheon Sponsored By: Pueblo City Council and Pueblo County Commissioners in Cooperation with Greater Pueblo Chamber of Commerce, 9/5/1974
  • Remarks Before the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association and the National Restaurant Association, 9/5/1974
  • Remarks Before the Public Policy Forum of the Consumer Complaints--Public Policy Alternatives, 9/11/1974
  • Remarks Before the Annual Convention of the Metropolitan Area Credit Union Managers Association, 9/13/1974
  • Remarks Before the First Annual National Press Club Awards for Excellence in Consumer Reporting, 9/25/1974
  • Remarks Before the Mayor's Family Food Dollar Conference, 9/27/1974

Box G17 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the Convention of Quality Inns, 10/2/1974
  • Remarks Before the Worldwide Airline Customer Relations Conference, 10/3/1974
  • Remarks Before the American Society of Chartered Life Underwriters Chicago Chapter, 10/5/1974
  • S. John Byington's Remarks Before the Southwestern Insurance Information Service, Inc. 10/10/1974
  • S. John Byington's Remarks Before the Intersect '74 Conference of the Georgia Tech Alumni Association, 11/11/1974
  • Remarks Before the Better Homes and Gardens Consumer Information Center, 10/18/1974
  • Remarks Before the Town and Country Club of Aiken, 10/22/1974
  • Remarks Before the American Petroleum Credit Association 50th Annual Conference, 10/22/1974
  • "Restoring Credibility," Remarks Before Greater Atlanta Consumer Day, 10/23/1974
  • Remarks Before the International Automobile Tire Conference, 10/24/1974
  • Remarks Before the American Nuclear Society Fall Meeting, 10/29/1974
  • Remarks Before the State Conference on Consumer Education, 10/31/1974
  • Remarks Before the Fall Leadership Seminar of Blair Academy, 11/1/1974
  • S. John Byington's Remarks Before the First National Farm Wife Forum, 11/12/1974
  • Remarks Before the Second National Conference on Consumer Protection, 11/14/1974
  • Remarks Before the National Energy Conservation Conference, 11/22/1974
  • Testimony Before the Special Subcommittee on Investigations of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, 11/26/1974
  • Remarks Before the Wharton School Club of Washington of the University of Pennsylvania, 12/9/1974
  • Remarks Before the Washington Chapter of the National Association of Accountants, 12/11/1974
  • Remarks Before the Second National Symposium on the Consumer Movement, 12/13/1974
  • "Stretching your Sinking Dollar," Remarks at John Wanamaker Department Store, 1/13/1975
  • Remarks Before the National Extension Workshop on Roles and Relationships for Development of 4-H Management, 1/16/1975
  • Remarks Before the National Association of Home Builder Convention, 1/21/1975
  • Remarks Before the Harvard Business School Club of Washington, 1/23/1975
  • Remarks Before the Fourth Annual All-Eastern Consumer Education Conference, 2/7/1975
  • Remarks Before a Meeting to Consider Proposals for Achieving the President's Energy Efficiency Goals for Major Home Appliances, 2/20/1975
  • Remarks Before the Executive Development Program, 2/21/1975
  • Remarks Before the Advertising Council, 2/26/1975
  • Remarks Before the International Tape Association, 3/4/1975
  • Remarks Before a Press Conference, 3/10/1975
  • Remarks Before a Joint Press Conference with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 3/17/1975

Box G18 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the International Organization of Consumers' Unions, 3/25/1975
  • All-Saints' Mother and Daughter Corporate Communion and Breakfast, 4/5/1975
  • Remarks Before the Financial Women's Club, 4/16/1975
  • Remarks Before the State Advisory Councils on Vocational Education, 4/17/1975
  • Remarks Before the Women's Advertising Club of Detroit, 4/21/1975
  • Statement Before the House appropriations Committee, 4/23/1975
  • Remarks Before Agriculture Leaders from California, 4/24/1975
  • Remarks Before an All Day Consumer Education Conference Workshop, 5/9/1975
  • Testimony Before the Subcommittee on Energy Research, Development, and Demonstration, 5/14/1975
  • Remarks Before the Montgomery Ward Consumer Economics Seminar, 5/19/1975
  • Remarks Before the Montgomery Ward Consumer Economics Seminar, 5/20/1975
  • Remarks Before the Central Atlantic States Association of Food and Drug Officials, 5/21/1975
  • Notes for Remarks Before Public Relations Society of America, 5/22/1975
  • "Solar Energy--Boom or Bust?" Remarks Before the International Solar Industry Expo '75, 5/27/1975
  • Remarks Before the Conference Board, 5/29/1975
  • Remarks Before the Association for the Fight Against Fraud, Madrid Chamber of Commerce, 6/6/1975
  • Pen Ryn Graduating Class of 1975, 6/8/1975
  • Remarks Before the 84th Annual Convention, General Federation of Women's Clubs, 6/10/1975
  • Testimony Before the Subcommittee on Commodities and Services of the House Committee on Small Business, 6/24/1975
  • Testimony Before the House Small Business Subcommittee on Commodities and Services, 7/22/1975
  • Briefing Before the Subcommittee on House and Consumer Interests of the Select Committee on Aging, 7/23/1975
  • Remarks Before a Joint Press Conference with the National Assessment of Educational Progress, 7/24/1975
  • Joseph C Dawson's Remarks Before the Solar Energy and Energy Conservation Conference, 8/27/1975
  • Remarks Before the Pacific Coast Gas Association Convention, 9/11/1975
  • Views on Three Proposed Rules Published by the FTC As Part of Initial Implementation of the Magnuson/Moss Warranty Act, 9/15/1975
  • "Survival Tactics for the Utility Industry," Remarks before the 1975 Pennsylvania Electric Association's Annual Meeting, 9/18/1975
  • Notes for Remarks Before The Library of Congress Research Service, 9/22/1975

Box G19 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the Seminar on Business-Consumer Relations, Sponsored by the Illinois State Chamber of Commerce and the US Department of Commerce, 9/24/1975
  • Remarks Before the Sankei Shimbum Seminar on Consumer Redress, 9/29/1975
  • Remarks Before the Sankei Shimbum Seminar on Consumer Redress, 10/1/1975
  • Remarks Before the Oscar Meyer Company Marketing Management Group, 11/5/1975
  • Remarks Before the National Advertising Review Board Annual Meeting, 11/12/1975
  • "Credit and the Consumer," Remarks before the U.S. League of Savings and Loan Associations, 11/13/1975
  • "The President's Commitment to Consumer Education," before the Consumer Education "Catch-Up" Conference, 11/21/1975
  • Remarks Before the American Academy of Dermatology, 12/9/1975
  • Consumers' Education--Options for Action, 1/12/1976
  • "Solar Energy and the Consumer," Remarks Before a Seminar on Solar Heating and Cooling Today, 1/27/1976
  • Remarks Before the Commonwealth Club of California, 1/30/1976
  • Remarks Before the Health Industry Manufacturers Association, 2/2/1976
  • Statement at the "Washington Consumers' Checkbook," Press Conference, 2/9/1976
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Consumer Committee on Commerce, US Senate, 3/8/1976
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Commerce, Consumer And Monetary Affairs, Committee on Government Operations, US House of Representatives, 3/9/1976
  • Remarks Before the National Furniture Warehousemen's Association 56th Annual Convention, 3/17/1976
  • Statement Before the Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Antitrust; The Robinson-Patman Act and Related Matters, Committee on Small Business, House of Representatives, 3/26/1976
  • Notes for Remarks Before the Close-Up Education Program, National Association of Home Builders, 4/5/1976
  • "New Frontiers in Consumer Affairs," 4/12/1976
  • Remarks Before the Texas Credit Union League and Affiliates, 4/22/1976
  • Notes for Remarks Before the Betty Crocker Scholarship Winners, 4/28/1976
  • Remarks Before the Auto Body Shop Council of America, 4/30/1976
  • "With It With Metric," Remarks before a Metric Conference on SI Metrics, 5/3/1976
  • Remarks Before the 99th Annual Meeting of The Philadelphia Home for Incurables, 5/4/1976
  • "Anchoring the Pendulum," Remarks Before the Graduating Class of 1976 of Our Lady of Angels College, 5/8/1976
  • "New Directions," Remarks Before the Pennsylvania Consumer Conference, 5/11/1976

Box G20 - Speech File

  • Remarks before the Grand Rapids Rotary Club, 5/13/1976
  • Remarks Before the Grand Rapids Jaycees, 5/13/1976
  • Remarks before the Washington Affairs Conference of the National Association of Bedding Manufacturers, 5/14/1976
  • Remarks Before the National Symposium on Patients' Rights in Health Care, 5/17/1976
  • "Our American Heritage," Remarks Before the Republican Women of Pennsylvania, 5/19/1976
  • Remarks Before the Quota Club, 5/22/1976
  • Remarks Before the Conference on Business' Role and Responsibility in Modern Society, 6/9/1976
  • Remarks Before the International Ergonomics Association, 7/12/1976
  • Remarks Before the National Conference on Care Labeling, 7/19/1976
  • Remarks Before the International Platform Association, 7/28/1976
  • Remarks Before the National Conference of Lieutenant Governors, 7/30/1976
  • "Distinguished Service to America Award," County Detectives Association of Pennsylvania, 7/31/1976
  • ICAP Meeting, Reception and Luncheon, 8/9/1976
  • Notes for Remarks Before the Brand Names Foundation Inc., 9/20/1976
  • Remarks before the International Oil Industry TBA Group, 9/27/1976
  • Remarks Before the American International Automotive Congress, 9/27/1976
  • Remarks before the W.E. Long Independent Bakers' Cooperative, 9/28/1976
  • Remarks Before the Missouri Optometric Association, 9/30/1976
  • Statement at a News briefing to Formally Launch the Insurance Consumer Advisory Panel, 10/5/1976
  • Remarks at the Seminar on Business-Consumer Relations, Sponsored by South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, 10/6/1976
  • Remarks at Ohio Federation of Republican Women, 10/8/1976
  • Remarks Before the Pennsylvania Council of Republican Women, 10/11/1976
  • Remarks Before the National Association of Mutual Insurance Agents (NAMIA) Recognition Luncheon, 10/13/1976
  • "Can Government and Consumers Get it Together?" Remarks Before Consumer Awareness Week, sponsored by San Diego Community Colleges and San Diego Gas and Electric Company, 10/15/1976
  • Remarks before the Deerfield Beach Rotary Club, 10/16/1976
  • Remarks Before the International Claim Association, 10/18/1976
  • Statement to the National Commission on Electronic Funds Transfer, 10/27/1976

Box G21 - Speech File

  • Remarks Before the Package Designers Council, 11/10/1976
  • Remarks Before the Second Annual Consumer Education Catch-Up Conference, 11/11/1976
  • Remarks Before the Health Care Cost Crisis Symposium, 11/18/1976
  • Remarks Before the Interagency Conference on Citizen Participation on Government Decision-Making, 12/8/1976
  • Remarks Before the Monsanto Chemicals Company's Management Meeting, 12/14/1976
  • Remarks Before the Fourth National Consumer Symposium, 12/15/1976
  • "The Power of the Consumer," Date Unknown
  • Statement on Quality Water, Date Unknown
  • Statement on Consumer Representation Plans, Date Unknown

Box H1 - Press Releases

  • Undated
  • 1969 April-December
  • 1970 February-May
  • 1970 June-July
  • 1970 August
  • 1970 September-October
  • 1970 November-December
  • 1971 February-March
  • 1971 April-May
  • 1971 June
  • 1971 July
  • 1971 August-September

Box H2 - Press Releases

  • 1973 January-April
  • 1973 May
  • 1973 June-July
  • 1973 August
  • 1973 September-October
  • 1973 November-December
  • 1974 January-February
  • 1974 March
  • 1974 April-May
  • 1974 June
  • 1974 July
  • 1974 August

Box H3 - Press Releases

  • 1976 January-February
  • 1976 March-April
  • 1976 May
  • 1976 June-July
  • 1976 August
  • 1976 September-October
  • 1976 January-February
  • 1976 March-April
  • 1976 May
  • 1976 June-July
  • 1976 August
  • 1976 September-October

Box I1 - Publications

  • An Approach to Consumer Education for Adults
  • A Battle Plan for Saving
  • Consumer Complaints - Public Policy Alternatives
  • Consumer News
    - April 1971-March 1972
    - April 1972-November 1972
    - December 1972-May 1973
    - June 1973-October 1973
    - November 1973-February 1974
    - March 1974-July 1974
    - August 1974-January 1975
    - February 1975-June 1975
    - July 1975-October 1975

Box I2 - Publications

  • Consumer News [Continued]
    - November 1975-February 1976
    - March 1976-June 1976
    - July 1976-September 1976
    - October 1976-January 1977
  • Consumer Questions on Banking, Saving and Loan Associations, and Other Institutions
  • Dear Consumer - Chronological Listing
  • Dear Consumer
    - 1972
    - 1973
    - 1974
    - 1975
    - 1976
    • Directory of Consumer Organizations

Box I3 - Publications

  • Regulatory Reform - A Role for Business Schools?
  • State Consumer Action Summary '71
  • State Consumer Action Summary '72
  • State Consumer Action Summary '73
  • State Consumer Action Summary '74
  • State Consumer Action Summary '75
  • Suggested Guidelines for Consumer Education K-12
  • Summary of Proceedings - National Conference for State and Local Government Consumer Office Administrators
  • Regulatory Reform - A Role for Business Schools?
  • State Consumer Action Summary '71
  • State Consumer Action Summary '72
  • State Consumer Action Summary '73