SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains material primarily documenting William G. Hyland’s post- government career, in particular his tenure as editor of Foreign Affairs but includes some material from his government service during the Nixon and Ford administrations.

QUANTITY
38.8 linear feet (ca. 77,600 pages)

DONOR
William G. Hyland (accession number 2016-NLF-040)

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
William G. Hyland donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by John J. O’Connell, January 2017
[s:\bin\findaid\hyland, william g. - papers.doc]

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

William G. Hyland

Jan. 18, 1929 - Born, Kansas City, MO

1950-53 - U.S. Army (Second Armored Division)

1952 - B.A., History, Washington University, MO

1954 - M.A., History, University of Kansas City, MO

1954-68 - CIA Employee/Kremlinologist

1969-74 - U.S. National Security Council

1974-75 - U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for Intelligence and Research

1975-77 - White House Deputy National Security Adviser

1984-93 - Editor, Foreign Affairs

Mar. 25, 2008 - Died, Fairfax, VA

INTRODUCTION

William G. Hyland, a noted expert on U.S.-Soviet relations, had a distinguished career in government service, which began during the 1950s as an analyst at the Central Intelligence Agency and culminated with his tenure as Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs during the Ford administration. In between, Hyland served on the National Security Council staff and as Assistant Secretary of State for Intelligence and Research.

After leaving government service in 1977, William G. Hyland began working for several influential policy institutes, most notably the Georgetown Center for Strategic and International Studies, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, and Council for Foreign Relations. These jobs directly lead to his editorship of Foreign Affairs (1984-93), where Mr. Hyland played a part in furthering the journal’s role in framing the establishment’s discussion of Cold War strategy and guided its coverage of the fall of the Soviet Union.

Included within this collection are drafts of books and articles by Hyland and others, editorials, speeches, transcripts, and notes. Additionally, correspondence relating to articles submitted to Hyland for publication in Foreign Affairs. Of particular interest might be the articles with a large number of handwritten notes, edits, and marginalia. Topics under discussion include Soviet politics, U.S. – Soviet summit meetings, trip notes from Soviet Union, SALT, Star Wars, German reunification, Persian Gulf crisis, and Seymour Hersh’s The Price of Power. Mr. Hyland also wrote a half dozen books on international relations and popular music. The collection contains a working draft of “The Cold War is Over” (1990) and “The Song is Ended” (1998). Material relating to the journal’s routine operations include correspondence, phone messages, writing style manual, and meeting notes.

Although the William G. Hyland Papers primarily document his post-government career, as a whole the collection is rather selective and fragmentary. A small portion of the papers document his career in public service including Assistant Secretary of State for Intelligence and Research and White House Deputy National Security Advisor. But this material reveals little about his involvement in policy decisions made by the Nixon and Ford administrations. Included within are articles, notes, government publications, and news publications.

The printed material consists of government reports and non-U.S. news translated and disseminated by the U.S. government. Included within are the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) news summaries, Current Digest of the Soviet Press, Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty (RFE-RL), and News and Views from the USSR are quite plenty.

Related Materials (March 2016)
Related materials are located in a number of other collections. For example, the National Security Adviser’s files and its various sub-collections: Kissinger Reports on USSR, China, and Middle East; Kissinger-Scowcroft West Wing Office Files; Memoranda of Conversations; Trip Briefing Books and Cables; Remote Archive Capture (RAC) program. The Arthur Burns Papers, especially material from his service as the U.S. Ambassador to West Germany, 1981-1985.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File, 1974-92.  (Boxes 1-9, 3.9 linear feet)
This series contains William Hyland’s manuscripts, published books, articles, speeches, radio and television transcripts, notes, and some background material. Areas of particular strength include materials on Leonid Brezhnev, Mikhail Gorbachev, Soviet politics, summit meetings, glasnost, arms control, Strategic Defense Initiative (SDI) or “Star Wars”, Afghanistan, NATO, German reunification, and Persian Gulf War.

Arranged alphabetically by title of work.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1974-92.  (Boxes 10-24, 6.6 linear feet)
This series contains William Hyland’s notes, letters, correspondence, phone messages, outgoing memos, Foreign Affairs style manual, press releases, conference papers, booklets, and speeches. Areas of particular strength include Hyland’s handwritten notes from policy conferences as well as letters from Richard Nixon, George. H.W. Bush, Brent Scowcroft, Zbigniew Brzezinski, Robert Gates, and Condoleezza Rice. Topics include arms control, nuclear weapons, U.S. – Soviet relations, Soviet politics, Cold War strategy, Mideast peace, glasnost, and 1988 republican presidential primary election.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Writings by Other Authors File, 1974-92.  (Boxes 25-39, 6.6 linear feet)
This series contains draft and published articles and other writings by individuals other than William Hyland. Often these works were submitted to Hyland for review or possible publication in Foreign Affairs. Areas of particular strength include works relating to Cold War strategy, Soviet politics, and arms control. Authors represented include: Richard Nixon, Henry Kissinger, Brent Scowcroft, and Zbigniew Brzezinski.

Arranged alphabetically by author surname and thereunder by title of writing.

View container list for this series

Publications, 1960-92.  (Boxes 40-88, 21.7 linear feet)
This series contains foreign relations-related journals, government reports, news bulletins, news digest, and newsletters. Publications include International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), State Department’s Bulletin and Defense Department’s Current News, Current Digest of the Soviet Press, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) news summaries, The German Tribune, News and Views from the USSR, and RFE-RL Research Bulletin.

Arranged alphabetically by publication title.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• The ABM Treaty and Options for Ballistic Missile Defense - Conference Paper Emerging Strategic Environment: Implications for Ballistic Missile Defense – Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis, 3/1978
• After Brezhnev - Communique - NPR - Program Transcript, 11/15/1972
• All Quiet on the Western Front - BBC Documentary Transcript, 5/1989
• American Foreign Policy - Draft Paper
• American Foreign Policy at Mid-Passage - Draft Paper
• American - German Conference - Transcript, 3/1983
• America's New Course - Foreign Affairs Article, Spring 1990
• The Atlantic Crisis - DAEDLUS Article, Winter 1981
• Before the Bullets Fly, Give Peace a Chance - Newsday, 9/28/1990
• Beyond Brezhnev - Wall Street Journal Article, 11/12/1982
• Brezhnev: A Pre - Postmortem - The New Republic Article, 5/1982
• Brezhnev and Beyond - Foreign Affairs Article, Fall 1979
• Britain Was Too Moderate - Washington Post Article, 5/23/1982
• The Case for Pragmatism - Foreign Affairs Article, 1992
• Chance to Secure Real Peace - The Miami Herald Article, 11/14/1982
• Clash With the Soviet Union - Foreign Policy Journal
• The Cold War Is Over - Book Manuscript (1)
• The Cold War Is Over - Book Manuscript (2)
• The Cold War Is Over - Book Manuscript (3)

Box 2 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• The Cold War Is Over - Book Manuscript (4)
• The Cold War Is Over - Book Manuscript (5)
• Crisis Management and Iran - Notes and Background Material
• Defining Success at the Summit - International Herald Tribune Article, 11/18/1985
• East-West Relations
• East-West Relations - Paper for East - West Forum, 1987
• East-West Relations - Paper for John J. McCloy Discussion Group
• East-West Relations - Paper for New Weapons Technologies and Soviet - American Relations Symposium - Ford Library, 11/14/1984
• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (1)
• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (2)
• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (3)
• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (4)
• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (5)

Box 3 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (6)
• East-West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1989 (7)
• The European Peace Movement and NATO: The U.S. Role - Paper
• Eventually, We Will Have to Return to Diplomacy - Washington Post Article, 9/25/1983
• The First Post - Cold War Summit - New York Times Article, 5/25/1990
• Foreign Policy for the 1990s - Paper
• Foreign Policy on Beam - Omaha World Herald (Washington Post Reprint), 7/13/1981
• Formula for Baltic Independence - Washington Post Article, 4/3/1990
• The Future of NATO and Global Security: The Soviet Dimension - Paper for CSIS Conference, 11/12 - 14/1984
• Freeze and Anti - Freeze - Washington Post Article, 4/2/1982
• Getting Off the Dime on Missiles - LA Times, 4/11/1983
• Going Beyond a Minimal Freeze - F.A.S. Panel Transcript, 3/7/1983
• The Gorbachev Succession - Foreign Affairs, Spring 1985 (1)
• The Gorbachev Succession - Foreign Affairs, Spring 1985 (2)
• High Noon in Geneva: Tallying Gains, Losses From the Summit Will Not be Easy – LA Daily Journal, 11/19/1985
• How Reagan Should Cope With a Dangerous World - U.S. News and World Report Interview, 8/31/1981
• Institutional Impediments - Chapter in Arms and Defense in the 1980s, 1982
• Integrating Arms Control and Defense Planning - John Hopkins University Seminar Paper, 11/20/1979
• International Security - Commentary, Fall 1978

Box 4 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• KTO KOGO in the Kremlin - Problems of Communism, January - February, 1982
• Leonid Brezhnev, 1906 - Soon: A Premature Obituary - The New Republic, 5/19/1982
• Looking Towards the East, How Does the West Respond to the Soviet Union - Paper Presented at the Atlantic Conference, 11/1982
• The Making of America's Soviet Policy - Book Chapter
• Malta - A Good First Act - Draft Paper
• A Man in a Hurry (Andropov: The First 60 Days) - Washington Post Article, 1/9/1983
• McCloy, John J. - Eulogy
• Mortal Rivals - Book Manuscript
• Mortal Rivals - Chapter IV
• Mortal Rivals - Publicity
• NATO and East - West Relations - in NATO Agenda for the Next Four Years - Rand Report, 1/1982
• The Nature of the Soviet Threat, Washington and Europe - Draft Paper
• The New Cold War - Bill Moyer's Journal Transcript, 4/31/1981
• The Next Hundred Days - Newspaper Article, 4/1989
• New York Times Op Ed, 5/24/1990
• Offering Saddam A Way Out - Washington Post Article, 9/25/1990
• Old Adversaries, New Ground - Symposium Paper Printed in SAIS Review, Summer-Fall, 1988
• Paging Mr. X, Book Review - The New Republic, 6/18/1984
• The Peace Movements, European Neutralism, and the Future of the Atlantic Alliance – Chapter in European Movements and the Future of the Western Alliance
• Perspectives of Key Actors: The Soviet Union - Paper for Atlantic Council China Policy Committee, 9/14/1982
• Poland Chills the Arms Talk - Toronto Star Article, 1/23/1982

Box 5 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• Proposals for East - West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1986 (1)
• Proposals for East - West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1986 (2)
• Proposals for East - West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1986 (3)
• Proposals for East - West Relations - Trilateral Commission Report, 1986 (4)
• The Reagan Foreign Policy - Introduction
• Reagan - Gorbachev III - Foreign Affairs, Fall 1987
• Remarks on the SALT Treaty, 11/1978
• SALT or Limbo - Washington Post, 6/21/1979
• Sanctions Over Poland Need Backing of Allies - LA Times Article, 1/6/1982
• Scoring the Summit Won't Be Easy - New York Times Article, 11/17/1985
• Select Committee on Intelligence - Withholding of SALT Compliance Information, 12/17/1975 (Transcript)
• Setting Global Priorities - Foreign Affairs, Winter 1988-1989
• The Sino-Soviet Conflict, A Search for New Security Strategies - Strategic Review, Fall 1979
• The Sino-Soviet Conflict: Its Development in the 1980s - Conference Paper for American Assembly on the China Factor - Sino-Soviet Relations and the Global Scene, 3/1981
• The Sino-Soviet Conflict - Paper for Conference on East Asian Security in the 1980s - Rand Corp., 1/11 - 13/1979
• Schultz Will Get to Travel a New Foreign Policy Road - LA Times Article, 7/19/1982

Box 6 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• The Song is Ended: Songwriters and American Music, 1900-1950 (1)
• The Song is Ended: Songwriters and American Music, 1900-1950 (2)
• The Song is Ended: Songwriters and American Music, 1900-1950 (3)
• The Song is Ended: Songwriters and American Music, 1900-1950 (4)
• The Song is Ended: Songwriters and American Music, 1900-1950 (5)
• The Song is Ended: Songwriters and American Music, 1900-1950 (6)
• Sorting Out the Nuclear Confusion - LA Times Article, 4/13/1982
• Soviet - American Relations: A New Cold War? Rand Publication, 5/1981
• Soviet - American Relations Speech - Washington University
• Soviet and NATO Negotiating Options for TNF - Draft Paper, 7/21/1981
• Soviet Perspectives on Nuclear Weapons - Conference Report (3rd Session)
• Soviet Security Concerns in the 1980s - Adelphi Papers No. 52
• Soviet Security in the 1980s - Paper for International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS)

Box 7 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• Soviet's New Era - Newspaper Article
• The Soviet Strategy - Papers for Security Conference on Asia and the Pacific, 6/19 – 20/1980
• Soviet Theatre Forces and Arms Control Policy - Survival Article – September/October 1981
• The Soviet Union and Germany - Paper, 12/1978
• The Soviet Union and Middle East - Paper for Middle East Research Institute Conference, 11/1980
• The Soviet Union and the United States - Current History, 10/1981
• The Soviet Union in the American Perspective: Perceptions and Realities - Adelphi Papers No. 174
• The Soviet Union in the American Perspective: Perceptions and Realities - Conference Paper - The International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), 23rd Annual Conference, 9/10 -13/1981
• Soviets New Era - New York Times Article, 11/14/1982
• The Struggle for Europe: An American View - Chapter from Nuclear Weapons in Europe (1)
• The Struggle for Europe: An American View - Chapter from Nuclear Weapons in Europe (2)
• Television Transcripts, 1982, 1985-1987
• Television Transcripts, 1988-1991
• There is a Reagan Foreign Policy and it’s a Sound One - Seattle Daily Times, 7/15/1981
• Thirty Third Annual Conference Speech, 4/10/1987
• Two Old Pros at Work - Washington Post, 10/11/1981
• Untitled - 1930s - Submitted to Newsweek Magazine
• Untitled - Atlantic Alliance
• Untitled - Atlantic Alliance - Time Magazine

Box 8 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• Untitled - Carter Foreign Policy
• Untitled - Cold War
• Untitled - Disengagement
• Untitled - Foreign Relations with Western Europe and USSR
• Untitled - General World Affairs
• Untitled - Iraq Crisis
• Untitled - Middle East - LA Times
• Untitled - Nixon - Ford Foreign Relations with USSR and China
• Untitled - Post - Cold War Europe
• Untitled - Soviet Leaders - Remarks, Transcripts
• Untitled - Soviet Relations
• Untitled - Soviet Union
• U.S News and World Report - Interview Transcript, 7/30/1981
• U.S. - Soviet Relations
• U.S. - Soviet Relations and the Middle East - Paper
• U.S. - Soviet Relations - Paper for Aspen Institute, 1/15/1985
• U.S. - Soviet Relations - Paper for the Atlantic Conference, 1982
• U.S. - Soviet Relations: The Long Road Back - Foreign Affairs, 1981 (1)

Box 9 - Writings, Speeches, and Transcripts File

• U.S. - Soviet Relations: The Long Road Back - Foreign Affairs, 1981 (2)
• U.S. - Soviet Relations: The Long Road Back - Foreign Affairs, 1981 (3)
• The USSR and the USA - Paper Presented at the USSR and the Sources of Soviet Policy Seminar, Council on Foreign Relations, April - May, 1978
• The USSR and the United States - Current History, 10/1981
• The USSR and the Western Alliance - Chapter from Strengthening Deterrence: NATO and the Credibility of Western Defense in the 1980s, 1982 (1)
• The USSR and the Western Alliance - Chapter from Strengthening Deterrence: NATO and the Credibility of Western Defense in the 1980s, 1982 (2)
• The U.S. - Soviet Relationship: An Overview - Paper for Kennan Forum on International Affairs, 5/12/1990
• The U.S. and USSR: Rebuilding Relations - Paper for Conference on U.S. - Soviet Relations: The Next Phase, 10/18 - 19/1984 (1)
• The U.S. and USSR: Rebuilding Relations - Paper for Conference on U.S. - Soviet Relations: The Next Phase, 10/18 - 19/1984 (2)
• U.S. Policy Options (Africa) - Paper
• The USSR and Nuclear War - Chapter from Rethinking the U.S. Strategic Posture: A Report from the Aspen Consortium on Arms Control and Security Issues, 1982
• Where Are We? Speech
• Yes, There is a Reagan Foreign Policy - Washington Post, 7/2/1981

Box 10 - General Subject File

• Afghanistan
• Africa (Sub - Sahara)
• American German Conference
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (1)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (2)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (3)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (4)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (5)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (6)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (7)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons (8)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons – Notes (1)
• Arms Control and Nuclear Weapons – Notes (2)
• Aspen Institute

Box 11 - General Subject File

• Aspen Strategy Group Conference, 1989
• Atlantic Council - China Policy Committee
• Atlantik-Brucke - Joint Working Group on East-West Economic Relations
• Brazil
• Brzezinski, Zbigniew
• Bundy, William P. - WMCA Radio Interview Transcript, 5/27/1981
• Bush Administration
• Bush, George H.W.
• Bush, George H.W. - Vice President
• Bush (George H.W.) - White House (1)
• Bush (George H.W.) - White House (2)

Box 12 - General Subject File

• Bush (George H.W.) - White House (3)
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace - Charles Maechling, Jr.
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace - Outgoing Correspondence, 1983
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace - Outgoing Correspondence, 1984
• Carnegie Panel Meeting, 12/17/1981, Summary
• Carter White House
• Carter, Jimmy - Presidential Campaign
• Central America
• China (1)
• China (2)
• China (3)
• China (4)
• China - Memorandum
• Clinton for President Committee Invitation
• Cobb, Tryus (USMA Professor) - Visit to USSR and China
• Columbia University - University Seminar on Arms Control
• Committee for National Security
• Conference on Soviet - West European Relations, 6/1980
• Correspondence: A - D
• Correspondence: G
• Correspondence: H

Box 13 - General Subject File

• Correspondence: K
• Correspondence: L
• Correspondence: P
• Correspondence: R - S
• Correspondence: T - U
• Correspondence: W
• Council on Foreign Relations - Board of Directors, 1980
• Council on Foreign Relations - Conference on the Future of the Soviet Union, 11/16/1990
• Council on Foreign Relations - Delegation Visit to the USSR, 1987
• Council on Foreign Relations - Discussion Group on the China Factor
• Council on Foreign Relations - Examination of Israel in the 1980s
• Council on Foreign Relations - Foreign Policy Roundtable
• Council on Foreign Relations - Miscellaneous
• Council on Foreign Relations - Pledge Campaign Mailings
• CSCE and Helsinki Final Act
• Department of State - China Microfiche Supplement, 1955-1957
• Diego Garcia

Box 14 - General Subject File

• Eastern Europe
• Economics and Trade
• Folders Received Empty by Ford Library
• Ford Administration - Cyprus
• Ford Administration - Defense Spending
• Ford Administration - Ford Brezhnev Meeting Notes
• Ford Administration - Press Relations
• Ford Administration - SALT Leaks
• Ford Administration - Vladivostok Arms Agreement
• Ford Library - Colloquium on American Foreign Policy, 4/11/1991
• Ford, Gerald R. - 1976 Campaign (1)
• Ford, Gerald R. - 1976 Campaign (2)
• Ford, Gerald R. - 1976 Campaign (3)
• Ford, Gerald R. - Ford Foundation
• Foreign Affairs - 1983
• Foreign Affairs - 1984
• Foreign Affairs - 1985
• Foreign Affairs - 1986
• Foreign Affairs - 1987
• Foreign Affairs - 1988

Box 15 - General Subject File

• Foreign Affairs - 1989
• Foreign Affairs - 1990
• Foreign Affairs - 1991
• Foreign Affairs - Committee on Policy, 1952
• Foreign Affairs - List Articles
• Foreign Affairs - Managing Editor Search
• Foreign Affairs - Manual of Style and Procedures
• Foreign Affairs - Miscellaneous
• Foreign Affairs - Outgoing Memos - 1983 - Bundy
• Foreign Affairs - Outgoing Memos - 1983 - Chace
• Foreign Affairs - Outgoing Memos - 1983 - Uhlig
• Foreign Affairs - Publicity
• Foreign Affairs - Review Committee

Box 16 - General Subject File

• General Foreign Affairs (1)
• General Foreign Affairs (2)
• Georgetown University - Center for Strategic and International Studies
• Georgetown University - School of Foreign Service
• German Reunification
• German Unification
• Germany - General
• Goldman Sachs Symposium (World Economic Summit), 1990
• Gore, Albert Jr. - MX ICBMS
• Hersh, Seymour - Response
• Hersh, Seymour - The Price of Power (1)

Box 17 - General Subject File

• Hersh, Seymour - The Price of Power (2)
• Hersh, Seymour - The Price of Power (3)
• Hersh, Seymour - The Price of Power (4)
• Humor
• Hyland, William G. - Personal
• Hyland, William G. - Photo, 9/1983
• Hyland, William G. - Photo, Luncheon
• Hyland, William G. - Quotes
• Hyland, William G. Jr. - Resume

Box 18 - General Subject File

• Intelligence
• The Impact of Glasnost
• Intelligence
• International House of Chicago Conference, 10/31/1983 (1)
• International House of Chicago Conference, 10/31/1983 (2)
• International House of Chicago Proceedings
• International Institute for Strategic Studies
• International Portfolio - Audio Cassette Interviews, 1984
• Iraq (1)
• Iraq (2)
• Iraq (3)
• Iraq (4)
• Japan
• Johnson Administration - Soviet Relations
• Keck Center for International Strategic Studies - Claremont McKenna College
• Kissinger Associates - Unauthorized Loans to Iraq
• Kissinger Meeting with Alexander Yakovlev, 1/16/1989

Box 19 - General Subject File

• Kissinger, Henry (1)
• Kissinger, Henry (2)
• Kissinger/Hyland Telecon Transcript, 1/4/1974 (Appointment to Post)
• Kissinger, Henry - WSJ article
• Koh, T.B. (Singapore's Ambassador to U.S.)
• Law
• Lithuania
• Middle East - 1980s
• Middle East Situation
• Miscellaneous
• National Defense
• National Security Council - Directory
• NATO (1)
• NATO (2)
• Nixon, Richard M. - Analysis of Gorbachev
• Nixon, Richard M. - Analysis on 1988 Presidential Election
• Nixon, Richard M. - General
• Nixon, Richard M. - The Real Gorbachev
• Nunn, Sam
• On the Eve of the NATO Summit, 5/19/1978
• Phone Messages - 1979-1983 (1)

Box 20 - General Subject File

• Phone Messages - 1979-1983 (2)
• Phone Messages - 1979-1983 (3)
• Phone Messages - 1979-1983 (4)
• Phone Messages - 1981-1982
• Poland
• Poland - Memorandum
• Post-Cold War
• Reference Aids Communist Countries
• Religion
• Romania
• SALT
• SALT Themes
• Security Affairs Support Association
• Sino-Soviet Relations
• SIT Investment Associates, Inc. - Client Workshop

Box 21 - General Subject File

• Soviet-American Relations
• Soviet Trip, 1987
• Soviet Union - Chronology of USSR Highlights, 1981
• Soviet Union - CPSU (1)
• Soviet Union - CPSU (2)
• Soviet Union - Dartmouth Conference, 4/1984 (1)
• Soviet Union - Dartmouth Conference, 4/1984 (2)
• Soviet Union - Dartmouth Conference, 4/1984 (3)
• Soviet Union - General (1)
• Soviet Union - General (2)

Box 22 - General Subject File

• Soviet Union - General (3)
• Soviet Union - General (4)
• Soviet Union - General (5)
• Soviet Union - General (6)
• Soviet Union - General (7)
• Soviet Union - Gorbachev
• Soviet Union - Gorbachev Publications
• Soviet Union - Kennan Trip, 1945
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Articles
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Charts, Biographies, Reference Aids (1)

Box 23 - General Subject File

• Soviet Union - Leaders - Charts, Biographies, Reference Aids (2)
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Charts, Biographies, Reference Aids (3)
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Charts, Biographies, Reference Aids (4)
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Politburo, 1982 (1)
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Politburo, 1982 (2)
• Soviet Union - Leaders - Politburo, 1982 (3)
• Soviet Union - Military Doctrine
• Soviet Union - Molotov/Ribbentrop Pact
• Soviet Union - Notes (1)
• Soviet Union - Notes (2)
• Soviet Union - Political Transformation

Box 24 - General Subject File

• Soviet Union - Shoot down of KAL Flight
• Soviet Union - Treaties
• Soviet Union - Washington Summit, 12/1987
• State Department
• Strategic Defense Initiative (SDI)
• Strategic Defense Initiative (SDI) - Background Material
• Trilateral Commission (1)
• Trilateral Commission (2)
• United Kingdom
• U.S. Foreign Policy
• Versailles and the Origins of World War II
• Washington Research Group
• World Beat, Great Decisions in Foreign Policy - WETA

Box 25 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Adams, William C. International News and Network TV: A Review of Research Findings
• Aho, C. Michael. Costs and Benefits of Trade Adjustment Assistance
• Ajami, Fouad. Shooting an Elephant: The Expedition and its Aftermath
• Alexander, Arthur J. The Conversation of Soviet Defense Industry
• Alexander, Arthur J. Perestroika and Change in Soviet Weapons Acquisition
• Allen, Richard V. The Second Reagan Administration: Europe, East-West Relations, and National Security
• American Agenda. Report to the 41st President of the United States of America
• American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies/Institute for Sino-Soviet Studies. After the Moscow Summit, 5/4 - 5/1973
• American Enterprise Institute. FY 1980-1984 Defense Program, Issues and Trends
• Anthony, John Duke. Rethinking U.S. Security Policy for the 1980s
• Arms Control Association. Arms Control and National Security: An Introduction
• Arms Control Association. Countdown to SALT II, 1985
• Asmus, Ronald D. German Perceptions of the United States at Unification
• Asmus, Ronald D. German Unification and its Ramifications
• Aspen Institute. United States-Soviet and East European Relations: Building a Congressional Cadre, 8th Conference, 8/25 - 31/1990
• Aspin, Les. Burden sharing in the Persian Gulf
• Aspin, Les. Clinton Has Right Security Policy for the Future, 8/3/1992
• Aspin, Les. Defense for a New Era

Box 26 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Aspin, Les. The Gulf War: Dangers in Coming Days
• Aspin, Les. Military Options White Paper
• Aspin, Les. Press Release - Aspin Urges Scowcroft Commission Back Into High Gear, 8/30/1983
• Aspin, Les. Sanctions and the Persian Gulf Crisis
• Aspin, Les. Some Thoughts on Politics, Strategy, and Arms Control Principles
• Azrael, Jeremy R. The KGB in Kremlin Politics
• Azrael, Jeremy. Soviet Nationalities Developments and American Foreign and Security Policy
• Baker, James A. III. America in Asia: Emerging Architecture for a Pacific Community
• Barnds, William J. The Soviet Union and Vietnam
• Barnett, A. Doak. Reflections on China: 1948, 1978, 1988
• Bator, Francis. The Question of Germany
• Becker, Abraham S. East-West Economic Relations: Conflict and Concord in western Policy Choices
• Becker, Abraham S. Managing U.S.-Soviet Relations in the 1990s
• Becker, Abraham S. Sitting on Bayonets: The Soviet Defense Burden and the Slowdown of Soviet Defense Spending
• Beecher, William. A Reporter Looks at Arms Control
• Bell, Robert G. Implications of Extending the SALT I Interim Agreement
• Bell, Robert G. SALT II: Unresolved Technical Issues
• Bergh Den Van, Godfried. Nuclear Weapons and Self-Restraint in International Politics
• Bertram, Christopher. The State of Arms Control Negotiations
• Beyoghlow, Kamal A. Arab Radicalism: The Case of the Syrian Arab Republic
• Bialer, Seweryn. After Brezhnev
• Bialer, Seweryn. The International and Internal Contexts of the 26th Party Congress
• Bialer, Seweryn. The Sino-Soviet Conflict: The Soviet Perspective

Box 27 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Bilderberg. Baden-Baden Conference, 6/6 - 9/1991
• Bilderberg. Glen Cove Conference, 5/10 - 13/1990
• Bilderberg. La Toja Conference, 5/12 - 14/1989
• Bilderberg. Villa d’Este Conference, 4/24 - 26/1987
• Blacker, Coit D. The Future of Nuclear Arms Control
• Blackwill, Robert D. Specific Approaches to Conventional Arms Control In Europe
• Bogdan, Corneliu. Preventing the Spillover of Domestic Crises
• Bogomolov, Oleg T. The Origins of Change in the Soviet Union
• Bond, Daniel L. The Eleventh Five Year Plan, 1981-1985
• Bracken, Paul. The NATO Defense Problem
• Brennan, Donald G. Alternatives to Madness
• Brookings Institution. Vladivostok and SALT, 12/18/1984
• Bundy, William P. A Portentous Year
• Burrows, William. Ballistic Missile Defense (BMD)
• Canby, Steven L. The Conventional Defense of Europe
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Challenges for U.S. National Security, A Preliminary Report (1)
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Challenges for U.S. National Security, A Preliminary Report, Part II (2)
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Challenges for U.S. National Security, Final Report (3)

Box 28 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. The Nineteen-Eighties, 1985
• Center for Advanced International Studies (University of Miami). The Carter Disarmament Proposals: Some Basic Questions and Cautions
• Center for Science and International Affairs (CSIA). A Primer for the Nuclear Age
• Center for Science and International Affairs (CSIA). Does Strategic Defense Breed Offense?
• Center for Science and International Affairs (CSIA). Soviet Nuclear Fission: Control of the Nuclear Arsenal in a Disintegrating Soviet Union, No. 1
• Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). Coping With Gorbachev's Soviet Union
• Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). Reducing Nuclear Risks
• Chayes, Antonia. A Critique of the Arms Control Process
• Coalition Defense and C3I. National Security Issues Symposium, 1983
• Cochran, Thomas B. Unannounced U.S. Nuclear Weapons Tests, 1980-1984
• Congressional Quarterly Inc. Presidency 1977
• Cooper, Richard. Notes on Oil, the Middle East, and the World Economy
• Cordesman, Anthony H. Europe's Armies and Forward Deterrence
• Council on Foreign Relations. Discussion Group on the China Factor
• Council on Foreign Relations (CFR). Rethinking America's Security, 5/30 - 6/2/1991

Box 29 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Dahrendorf, Ralf. Reflections on the Revolution in Europe
• Davis, Paul K. Deterring or Coercing Opponents in Crisis: Lessons from the War with Saddam Hussein
• Davis, Paul K. Planning for Long-Term Security in Central Europe: Implications of the New Strategic Environment
• Dawisha, Karen. Soviet Decision-making and the Arab-Israeli War
• Desai, Padma. Soviet Economic Reform: A Tale of Two Plans
• Diamond, Douglas. Soviet Agricultural Plans for 1981-1985
• Drell, Sidney D. Strategic Defense Initiative
• Dreyer, June. China's Military Capabilities: At the Present End of the Decade
• Economic Policy Council of UNA. USA-U.S. Policies Toward the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund: A Report of the International Financial Institutions Panel
• Ehmke, Horst. Message: Through A Fact-Finding Visit to Moscow with Horst Ehmke (German Language)
• Epstein, Joshua M. The 1988 Defense Budget
• Fabian, Larry. The Middle East: America's Peace Policy in Jeopardy
• Fainsod, Merle. The Communist Party of the Soviet Union
• Fainsod, Merle. Krushchevism
• Falk, Richard A. What's Wrong with Henry Kissinger's Foreign Policy?
• Fewtrell, David. The Soviet Economic Crisis
• Foster, James L. Essential Evidence: What Is It and How Should it be Measured?
• Foster, James L. Rethinking the Unthinkable: The Strategic Dilemmas of the 1980s
• Freedman, Lawrence. The Declining Myth of Flexible Response
• Fukuyama, Francis. Soviet Civil-Military Relations and the Power Projection Mission

Box 30 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Gaddis, John Lewis. The Rise, Fall, and Future of Détente
• Gardner, Richard. Collective Security and the New World Order: What Role for the United States?
• Garten, Jeffrey. What Kind of New World Order?
• Garthoff, Raymond L. Perspectives on Strategic Balance
• Gelman, Harry. The Politburo's Management of its America Problem
• Gelman, Harry. The Rise and Fall of Détente
• Gelman, Harry. The Soviet Military Leadership and the Question of Soviet Deployment Retreats
• Gelman, Harry. The Soviet Turn Toward Conventional Force Reduction
• Gelman, Harry. The Soviet Union and China
• Golan, Galia. The Soviet Union and the Arab-Israel War of October 1973
• Golan, Galia. The Soviet Union and the Israeli War in Lebanon
• Grami, Hermann. Deutschland Report, No. 6
• Gray, Colin. Strategic Stability Reconsidered
• Griffith, William E. Sino-Soviet Relations 1964-1965
• Grossman, Gregory. An Economy at Middle Age
• Gustafson, Thane. Soviet Negotiating Strategy: the East-West Pipeline Deal, 1980-1984
• Hartman, Frederick H. The Strategic Triangle: China, Russia and the United States
• Hendrickson, David. The End of American History
• Herz, Martin F. The Vietnam War in Retrospect
• Hewett, Edward A. Reform or Rhetoric: Gorbachev and the Soviet Economy
• Hewett, Edward A. Soviet Energy Prospects and their Implications for East-West Trade
• Hines, John G. Defense and Counter Offensive Under the New Soviet Military Doctrine

Box 31 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Hoehn, William E., Jr. Outlasting SALT II and Preparing for SALT III
• Hoffmann, Stanley. A New World and its Troubles
• Hoffmann, Stanley. Notes on Soviet Patterns of International Behavior
• Hofstra Cultural Center. Seventh Presidential Conference, Gerald R. Ford 38th President of the United States, Restoring the Presidency, 4/6 - 8/1989
• Holloway, David. Military Power and Political Purpose in Soviet Policy
• Holloway, David. Technology, Management and the Soviet Military Establishment
• Holmes, Kim R. Reshaping Europe: Strategies for a Post-Cold War Europe
• Holst, Johan J. On the Conduct of East-West Relations
• Honig, Jan Willem. NATO: An Instrument Under Threat
• Horelick, Arnold L. The Future of the Soviet Union
• Horelick, Arnold L. Moscow's "New Time of Troubles" in the Middle East
• Horelick, Arnold L. Moscow's Rift with Sadat
• Horelick, Arnold L. Strategic Mind-Set of the Soviet Military (cross reference Subject File, Box 25, Soviet Union - Military Doctrine)
• Horowitz, Irving Louis. Beyond Polarity: Integrating Policymaking in a Post-Cold War Environment
• Hough, Jerry F. The Man and the System
• Indyke, Martin. The Postwar Balance of Power in the Middle East
• Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis, Inc. The Soviet Union and Ballistic Missile Defense, 1980
• Institute for Soviet and East European Studies (University of Miami). Zbigniew Brzezinski Reflects on U.S.-Soviet Rivalry, 1987
• Islam, Shafiqul. Beyond Brady: Toward Strategy for Debt Reduction
• Istoriya, Novaya I. A Theory Implemented: V.I. Lenin and Problems of National Liberation and Attitude to Nationalism
• Classified Title
• John Hopkins Foreign Policy Institute. Conventional Armed Forces in Europe Treaty, 1991
• John Hopkins Foreign Policy Institute. The United States and NATO in an Undivided Europe, 1991
• Johnson, Thomas H. One or Two Arguments About Antisatellite Weapons

Box 32 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Kahan, Jerome H. Strategies SALT
• Kaiser, Karl. Germany's Unification
• Kaiser, Robert G. The USSR in Decline
• Kane, Gordon L. Strategic Arms Control Through Test Restraints
• Karp, Aaron. The U.S. and Soviet Union and the Control of Ballistic Missile Proliferation to the Middle East
• Kaufmann, William W. Defense in the 1980s
• Keck Center for International and Strategic Studies. Essays on Strategy and Diplomacy, No. 3 and No. 1
• Kelleher, Catherine. The Central American Contingency: European and American Perspectives in the 1980s
• Kennan, George F. America and the Russian Future
• Kennan, George F. The Curious Monsieur Cyon
• Kennan, George. The Sources of Soviet Conduct in the Nature of the Soviet Challenge
• Kolkowicz, Roman. Military Strategy and Political Interests: The Soviet Union and the United States
• Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Aspects of the German Question, 1987
• Korb, Lawrence J. The Impact of the Persian Gulf War on Military Budgets and Force Structure
• Korniyenk, Georgiy. Something More About the Caribbean Crisis
• Kramer, Robert D. The Role of Arms Control in Strategic Doctrine
• Kusin, Vladimir. Security Concerns in Central Europe
• Lambeth, Benjamin. The Growth of Civilian Involvement in Soviet Defense Politics Under Gorbachev
• Lambeth, Benjamin S. Is Soviet Defense Policy Becoming Civilianized?

Box 33 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Larrabee, F. Stephen. The Challenge to Soviet Interests in Eastern Europe
• Leach, Jim. The Baltic States
• Lebahn, Axel. Can the West Help Perestroika Economically?
• Lebahn, Axel. The Yamal Gas Pipeline from the USSR to Western Europe
• Ledeen, Michael. The Future of Foreign Policy
• Legvold, Robert. The 26th Party Congress and Soviet Foreign Policy
• Legvold, Robert. The Revolution in Soviet Foreign Policy
• Legvold, Robert. Untitled
• Leifer, Michael. Conflict and Regional Order in South-East Asia
• Lord, Winston. A Strong Hand to Play
• Lowenthal, Richard. The Prospects for Pluralistic Communism
• Lowenthal, Richard. Soviet and Chinese Communist World Views
• Luttwak, Edward. The Nuclear Alternatives
• Luttwak, Edward. SALT and the Meaning of Strategy
• Maksudon, Sergei. Russian/Soviet Nationalities Policy and Foreign Policy
• Mandelbaum, Michael. American Policy Toward Eastern Europe
• Mandelbaum, Michael. Eastern Europe, the West, and the United States
• Mandelbaum, Michael. The Fates of Nations
• Mandelbaum, Michael. The Soviet Economy in Crisis
• Mandelbaum, Michael. The United States and Eastern Europe

Box 34 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Martin, James R. U.S.-China Military Relations
• May, Michael M. A START Proposal
• McFarlane, Robert. U.S.-Soviet Relations in the Late 20th Century
• Mendershausen, Horst. Inoffensive Deterrence
• Meyer, Stephen M. Civilian and Military Influence in Soviet Defense Decision-making
• Miko, Francis T. Soviet Strategic Objectives and SALT II
• Military Publishing House. Whence the Threat to Peace, 1982
• Morita, Akio. The Japan That Can Say No
• Morita, Akio. Multinational Business as a Partner in Trialogue
• Motyl, Alexander. Between East and West
• Nachman, Larry David. The Intellectual Power: The Case of Henry Kissinger
• National Defense University. SALT II Ratification Issues
• National Security Council Issues Symposium. Worldwide Deployment of Tactical Forces and the C3I Connection, 1982
• Nimitz, Nancy. Reform and Technological Innovation in the Eleventh Five-Year Plan
• Nitze, Paul H. Global Commitments of the United States
• Novosti Press Agency. The Programme of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, 1985
• Nuclear Weapons Databook. U.S. Nuclear Forces and Capabilities, Vol. 1
• Nye, Joseph S., Jr. Can America Manage Its Soviet Policy?
• Nye, Joseph S., Jr. The Making of America's Soviet Policy
• Ofer, Gur. Soviet Economic Growth: 1928-1985
• O'Neill, Mike. America's Love Affair With Folly
• Palmer, Mark. U.S. and Western Policy: New Opportunities for Action

Box 35 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Payne, Keith B. Nuclear Policy and the Defense Transition
• Perry, William J. Desert Storm and Deterrence
• Peterson, Peter G. High Tension on the High Wire: U.S. Policies and the Global Economy
• Peterson, Peter G. The Oil and Debt and Poverty Emergency of the Eighties
• Petrov, Vladimir. U.S.-Soviet Détente: Past and Future
• Pollack, Jonathan D. China's Potential as a World Power
• Pollack, Jonathan D. Chinese Foreign Policy: Five Authors in Search of an Interpretation
• Pollack, Jonathan D. Sino-American Normalization and the Politics of International Security
• Pollack, Jonathan D. U.S. Strategic Alternatives in a Changing Pacific
• Quandt, William B. U.S.-Soviet Rivalry in the Middle East
• Ramee, Mark. Administration in Transition: Managing Nuclear Issues
• Rand Publication. The Atlantic Alliance, 1983
• Rand Publication. Long-Term Economic and Military Trends, 1950-2010
• Rand Publication. Strategic Defense and Crisis Stability
• Rand Publication. Study on Non-nuclear Strategic Weapons: Executive Summary
• Rapporteur, Scott Monje. The Military Dimension of the Soviet Extended Empire
• Rivlin, Alice. Beyond Alliances
• Robinson, Thomas. Rethinking U.S. Security Policy for the 1980s
• Rodman, Peter. Eastern Europe's Reaction to Changes in the Soviet Union
• Rosenbaum, Harold. Improving Conventional Force Capacity
• Rosenfeld, Stephen S. The Guns of July
• Rudin Management Building. The History of 345 Park Avenue: A Tribute to Samuel Rudin 1896-1975
• Rumer, Eugene B. The End of a Monolith: The Politics of Military Reform in the Soviet Armed Forces

Box 36 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Sagan, Carl. Nuclear War and its Climatic Catastrophe
• Scalapino, Robert A. The United States and Asia: Future Prospects
• Scanlan, Antony. Competition for Arab Oil in Western Europe
• Scheffer, David J. The United Nations in the Gulf Crisis and Options for U.S. Policy
• Schlesinger, Arthur, Jr. The Legislative-Executive Balance in International Affairs
• Schlesinger, James R. National Security Issues Symposium
• Schlesinger, James R. Statement Before the U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, 2/6/1985
• Schocken, Gershom. Israel in Election Year 1984
• Scoville, Herbert. Toward a Strategic Arms Limitation Agreement
• Schweigler, Gebhard. The United States and the New World Order
• Secretariat for Information of the Federal Executive Council, Belgrade. Documents of the Gatherings of Non-Aligned Countries 1961-1973
• Selin, Ivan. Soviet Military Economic Analysis
• Sella, Ammon. The Soviet Attitude Towards the War in Lebanon
• Sestanovich, Stephen. Inventing the Soviet National Interest
• Sharp, Jane. Are the Soviets Interested in Arms Control?
• Sherry, George L. The United Nations Reborn
• Shokhina, V.L. Intellectual Journals in the Cultural Life of the USA: Commentary vs. The New York Review of Books
• Simes, Dimitri. Foreign Policy, Arms Control and Strategic Issues in the Soviet Media
• Simes, Dimitri K. Soviet Perspectives on the Reagan Administration
• Simmons, P.J. Archival Research on the Cold War Era: E Report from Budapest, Prague and Warsaw

Box 37 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Sloan, John J. China's Current and Future Military Capabilities
• Slocombe, Walter B. Nuclear Force Structure and the Sources of Risk of War
• Smith, Marcia. Anti-satellites (Killer Satellites)
• Smith, Wayne S. Cuba's Castro: On the Ropes?
• Smith, Wayne S. U.S. Cuban Relations: The Impenetrable Time Warp
• Sodard, Michael J. Soviet Studies of the Western Alliance
• Solomon, Richard H. The Soviet Presence in Asia
• Sonnenfeldt, Helmut. The Soviet Challenge in Setting National Priorities
• Sorensen, Theodore C. Rethinking National Security
• Soviet Committee for European Security and Co-Operation. The Threat to Europe, 1981
• Spanish Institute. Spain's Prospects, Report on a Spanish Institute - Tinkier Foundation Executive Seminar, 1985
• Staden Von, Berndt. Germans and Americans: Reflections on the Tricentennial of the First German Immigration to America
• Steinbruner, John. U.S. Strategies and Arms Control
• Stewart, Philip D. The Prevention and Settlement of Regional Conflict: Toward Some Principles
• Strode, Rebecca. Issues in Soviet Policy Toward A Nuclear Test Ban, 1958-1963
• Suny, Ronald Grigor. The Soviet South: Nationalism and the Outside World
• Szayna, Thomas S. The Ethnic Factor in the Soviet Armed Forces
• Talbott, Strobe. The Road to Zero

Box 38 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Talbott, Strobe; Treverton, Greg; Gergen, David; Chege, Michael; Bosworth, Steve. America and the World, Foreign Affairs
• Tarasulo, Yitzhak. The Soviet Concept of Localized Conflict
• Tatu, Michael. The Conduct of East-West Relations in The 1980s
• Teague, Elizabeth. Perestroika: Who Stands to Gain, Who Stands to Lose?
• Tinajero, A.A. Projected Strategic Offensive Weapons Inventories of the U.S. and USSR: An Unclassified Estimate
• Trainor, Bernard. War by Miscalculation
• Treverton, Gregory F. Reconstructing European Security
• Trilateral Commission. Madrid Meeting, 5/1986
• Trilateral Commission. Washington, D.C., 4/1990
• Tucker, Robert W. 1989 and All That
• Tucker, Robert W. Reagan's Foreign Policy
• United States Institute of Peace. Prospects for Conflict or Peace in Central and Eastern Europe, a Report of a Study Group, 5/1990
• Valenta, Jiri. Crisis at the Soviet Periphery: U.S. Preventive Diplomacy
• Valenta, Jiri. Soviet Decision-making and National Security: Comparison of the Czechoslovak and Afghan Invasions
• Valenta, Jiri. The USSR, Cuba, and the Crisis in Central America

Box 39 - Writings by Other Authors File

• Van Oudenaren, John. Political Consultation Agreements in Soviet-West European Relations
• Van Oudenaren, John. The Role of Shevardnadze and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the Making of Soviet Defense and Arms Control Policy
• Van Oudenaren, John. Soviet Policy toward Western Europe, Objectives, Instruments, Results
• Vlahos, Michael. Looking Homeward
• Vlahos, Michael. Thinking About World Change
• W. Averell Harriman Institute. The National Nature of Russian History
• Warnke, Paul C. Some Lessons of SALT II
• Washington Institute. The Sword of the Arabs: Iraq's Strategic Weapons, No. 21
• Washington Institute. Security for Peace: Israel's Minimal Security Requirements in Negotiating with the Palestinians, No. 3
• Washington Institute Salik Strategic Conference. Between Two Administrations: An American-Israel Dialogue, 6/1988
• Whelan, Joseph G. Soviet Successions from Lenin to Brezhnev: The Troubled Search for Legitimacy
• Whelan, Joseph G. The Soviet Union in the Third World
• Whiting, Allen S. The Soviet Union in Asia
• Wolfe, Thomas W. The Military Dimension in the Making of Soviet Foreign and Defense Policy
• Wolfe, Thomas W. Military Power and Soviet Policy
• Young, Burt. Apple I or II, A Two Act Play

Box 40 - Publications File

• Adelphi Papers - International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), 1970-1983 (1)
• Adelphi Papers - International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), 1970-1983 (2)
• Arms Control and Disarmament Agency - Agreements, 1982
• Arms Control and Disarmament Agency - Issues Brief, 1987-1988, 1991
• Arms Control and Disarmament Agency - Soviet Noncompliance, 2/1986
• Arms Control Disarmament Agency - SALT II Treaty, 6/1980
• Arms Control Today 1979-1982, 1984-1985
• Aussen Politik, 1990-1991

Box 41 - Publications File

• Beijing Review 1/23/1984
• CIA - Publications Released to the Public, 1972-1979
• CIA - Soviet/U.S. Defense Activities, 1971 - 80 (Published Research Paper)
• Colloquy Newsletter, 1989
• Commission on Integrated Long - Term Strategy - Report, 1/1988
• Congress (Office of Technology Assessment) - Anti - Satellite Weapons Report, 1985
• Congress (Office of Technology Assessment) - Redesigning Defense, 1991
• Congressional Budget Office - MX Missile FY 1980
• Congressional Budget Office - SALT II Treaty, 10/1991
• Congressional Research Service - Moscow Summit, 1988

Box 42 - Publications File

• Congressional Research Service - Soviet Union in the Third World, 1980-1985
• Congressional Research Service - U.S. Government and the Vietnam War, Part II
• Congressional Research Service - U.S. Government and the Vietnam War, Part III
• Critical Issues – Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), 1989-1991
• Crossroads, 1979
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press - 1981-1982

Box 43 - Publications File

• Current Digest of the Soviet Press, 1983
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press, 1983-1985
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press, 1986-1988
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press, 1989-1990
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press, 1990-1991
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press - Selections
• Current Digest of the Soviet Press - Soviet Foreign Policy Today, 3/1983
• Department of Commerce - Whipsaw Controversy, 3/30/1977
• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1980, 1982-1985, 1987

Box 44 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1990 (1)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1990 (2)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1990 (3)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1990 (4)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1990 (5)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Early Bird, 1990-1991
• Department of Defense - Current News, Selected Statements, 1986

Box 45 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1979-1980
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1980
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1980-1981
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1981
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1981-1982
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1982-1983

Box 46 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1983
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1984 (1)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1984 (2)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1985 (1)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1985 (2)

Box 47 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1985 (3)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1985-1986
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1986
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1986-1987
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1987
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1988 (1)

Box 48 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1988 (2)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1989 (1)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1989 (2)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1990 (1)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1990 (2)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1990 (3)

Box 49 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1990-1991
• Department of Defense - Current News, Special Edition, 1991
• Department of Defense - Current News, Supplement, 1986 (1)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Supplement, 1986 (2)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Supplement, 1986 (3)
• Department of Defense - Current News, Supplement, 1986, 1988-1990
• Department of Defense - Current News, The Friday Review of Defense Literature, 01/09/1987
• Department of Defense - Current News, Weekend Edition, 1982-1983
• Department of Defense - Extended - Range Smart Conventional Weapon Systems - Paper by the Standoff Weapons Panel, Offense - Defense Working Group, 10/1988

Box 50 - Publications File

• Department of Defense - The Future of Containment, Report by the Offense – Defense Working Group, 10/1988
• Department of Defense - The Future Security Environment - Report by the Future Security Environment Working Group, 10/1988
• Department of Defense - FY 1973 Annual Report
• Department of Defense - FY 1977 Annual Report
• Department of Defense - Military Space Policies Programs - A Paper by the Working Group on Technology, 10/1988
• Department of Defense - Soviet Military Power
• Department of Defense - Soviet Strategic Defense Programs
• Department of Defense - SDI Report, 6/1986
• Department of Defense - Technology for National Security - A Report By The Working Group on Technology, 10/1988
• Department of State - Assessments and Research, 1975-1985 (1)

Box 51 - Publications File

• Department of State - Assessments and Research, 1975-1985 (2)
• Department of State - Assessments and Research, 1975-1985 (3)
• Department of State - Assistance to Viet-Nam and Cambodia, 1975
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1972-1974
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1974-1975
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (1)

Box 52 - Publications File

• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (2)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (3)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (4)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (5)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (6)

Box 53 - Publications File

• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (7)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1975 (8)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (1)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (2)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (3)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (4)

Box 54 - Publications File

• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (5)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (6)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1976 (7)
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1979
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1986-1987
• Department of State - Bulletin, 1989
• Department of State - A Constitution for the Sea, 1976
• Department of State - Cuban Involvement in Narcotics Trafficking, 1983

Box 55 - Publications File

• Department of State - Current Policy, 1979-1983
• Department of State - Current Policy, 1983-1984
• Department of State - Current Policy, 1984-1985
• Department of State - Current Policy, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1990
• Department of State – Dispatch (1)
• Department of State – Dispatch (2)

Box 56 - Publications File

• Department of State - Dispatch, (3)
• Department of State - Foreign Assistance Program: FY 1986 Budget and 1985 Supplemental Request
• Department of State - Gist, 1982-1989
• Department of State - Major Statements on Latin America, 2/1976
• Department of State - News Release, 1974
• Department of State - Overview of U.S.-Soviet Relations, 1977
• Department of State - Press, 1975-1990
• Department of State - Reagan Foreign Policy Statements
• Department of State - Recent Releases - Selected Information Materials, 1976
• Department of State - Secretary of State - Interview, 1974-1976
• Department of State - Secretary of State - Press Conference, 1974-1976
• Department of State - Secretary of State - Speech, 1974-1978 (1)
• Department of State - Secretary of State - Speech, 1974-1978 (2)
• Department of State - Secretary of State - Statement, 1974-1976

Box 57 - Publications File

• Department of State - Selected Documents, 1974-1975, 1979, 1983 (1)
• Department of State - Selected Documents, 1974-1975, 1979, 1983 (2)
• Department of State - Selected Statements, 1977-1978
• Department of State - Selected Statements, 1982-1985 (1)
• Department of State - Selected Statements, 1982-1985 (2)
• Department of State - Special Report, 1974-1988 (1)
• Department of State - Special Report, 1974-1988 (2)
• Department of State - United States Chiefs of Mission, 1973-1974

Box 58 - Publications File

• Documents of Disarmament, 1969
• Europa Archiv, 1983
• Federation of American Scientist (FAS) - The Voice of Science on Capitol Hill, 1979–1980
• Foreign Affairs, 1/1960
• Foreign Affairs, 7/1962
• Foreign Affairs, 10/1968

Box 59 - Publications File

• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1960, 1967, 1972-1975
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1977-1979
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1980
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1/1980 - 6/1981

Box 60 - Publications File

• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 7/1981 - 12/1981
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1/1982 - 5/1982
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 6/1982 - 10/1982
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 11/1982
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 12/1982

Box 61 - Publications File

• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1/1983
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 2/1983
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 3/1984 - 4/1983
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 5/1983 - 6/1983
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 7/1983 - 12/1983
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1/1984 - 7/1985

Box 62 - Publications File

• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 2/1984 (1)
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 2/1984 (2)
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 2/1984 (3)
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 2/1984 (4)

Box 63 - Publications File

• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 9/1985 - 12/1987
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 4/1988 - 7/1988
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 7/1988 - 8/1988
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 9/1988 - 2/1989
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 3/1989 - 12/1989

Box 64 - Publications File

• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1/1990 - 5/1990
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 8/1990 - 7/1991
• Foreign Policy, Summer 1991
• Freedom at Issue, 1988
• German Tribune, 1984-1990
• German Tribune, 2/1990 - 9/1990
• German Tribune, 9/1990 - 3/1991

Box 65 - Publications File

• German Tribune, 3/1991 - 12/1991
• House - ABM System, 1969
• House - Defense Appropriation Bill, 1977
• House - Détente, 1974
• House - Export Administration Act of 1979

Box 66 - Publications File

• House - FY 91 Defense Bill
• House - Implications of START
• House - Katyn Forest Massacre, 1988
• House - National Security Issues in the 90s, 7/21/1989
• House - Senate - Joint Committee Report - Soviet Economy, 12/31/1982
• House - Soviet Diplomacy and Negotiating Behavior, Vol. II, 8/1988
• House - Soviet Diplomacy and Negotiating Behavior, Vol. III, 4/1991 (1)

Box 67 - Publications File

• House - Soviet Diplomacy and Negotiating Behavior, Vol. III, 4/1991 (2)
• House - Soviet Total War, 9/23/1956
• Israel Research Institute of Contemporary Society (IRICS) Bulletin, 7/1979
• Joint Chiefs of Staff - Military Posture FY 1986
• Journal of International Affairs, Summer 1991
• Military Review - IKE, 10/1990
• National Endowment for Democracy - Newsletter, Fall 1988
• National Interest, 1985
• NATO Review, 2/1980
• NATO Review, 6/1980

Box 68 - Publications File

• New Times: A Soviet Weekly of World Affairs, 1972
• News and Views from the USSR, 1975-1979
• News and Views from the USSR, 1979-1981
• News and Views from the USSR, 1982
• News and Views from the USSR, 1982-1983

Box 69 - Publications File

• News and Views from the USSR, 1983
• News and Views from the USSR, 1984
• News and Views from the USSR, 1984-1985
• News and Views from the USSR, 1985 (1)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1985 (2)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1985 (3)

Box 70 - Publications File

• News and Views from the USSR, 1985-1986
• News and Views from the USSR, 1986 (1)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1986 (2)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1986-1987
• News and Views from the USSR, 1987
• News and Views from the USSR, 1987-1988

Box 71 - Publications File

• News and Views from the USSR, 1988 (1)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1988 (2)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1988 (3)
• News and Views from the USSR, 1989
• News and Views from the USSR, 1989-1990
• News and Views from the USSR, 1990-1991
• News and Views from the USSR, (Dates Unknown)

Box 72 - Publications File

• News and Views from the USSR, (Dates Unknown)
• News and Views from the USSR, (Dates Unknown)
• The Planned Economy (Planovoe Khoziaistvo), 10/1984
• Pravda Pulse, 7/7/1986
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Annual Subject Index, 1990
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Dispatch, 1975
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - In the Republics, 1989-1991
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Report on the Soviet Union, 1989-1991
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research, 1988-1991
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1973-1975
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 2/10/1981

Box 73 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (1)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (2)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (3)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (4)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (5)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (6)

Box 74 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985 (7)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1985-1986
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (1)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (2)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (3)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (4)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (5)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (6)

Box 75 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (7)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (8)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (9)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986 (10)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1986-1987
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (1)

Box 76 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (2)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (3)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (4)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (5)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (6)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (7)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (8)

Box 77 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (9)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1987 (10)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (1)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (2)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (3)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (4)

Box 78 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (5)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (6)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (7)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (8)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (9)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (10)

Box 79 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1988 (11)
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin, 1983-1985
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Bulletin (Russian Language), 1976
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Department, 1964-1965
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Research Report, 1992
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Soviet East European Report, 1983-1986
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Soviet East European Report, 1986-1987
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Soviet East European Report, 1987-1989

Box 80 - Publications File

• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Soviet East European Report, 1989-1990
• Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty - Soviet East European Report, 1990-1992
• School of Advanced International Studies Review (SAIS), 1982
• School of Advanced International Studies Review (SAIS), 1989
• School of Advanced International Studies Review (SAIS), 1990
• Senate - ABM Systems, 1969

Box 81 - Publications File

• Senate - ABM, MIRV, SALT, 1970
• Senate - Arms Control Implications, 1971
• Senate - Détente, 1974
• Senate - Dominican Intervention (Historical Series), 1990

Box 82 - Publications File

• Senate - Gulf of Tonkin (Historical Series)
• Senate - Nuclear Weapons in Europe, 1981
• Senate - SALT II Treaty, 1979
• Senate - World Situation in 1963 (Historical Series)
• Slavic Review Index, 1941-1964
• Slavic Review, 6/1965

Box 83 - Publications File

• Slavic Review, 9/1965
• Slavic Review, 3/1974
• Soviet Analyst, 1972-1973
• Soviet Economy (Russian Language), 1984 (1)
• Soviet Economy (Russian Language), 1984 (2)
• Soviet Economy (English Language), 1988-1989
• Soviet World Outlook, 1976

Box 84 - Publications File

• Soviet World Outlook, 1977-1979
• Soviet World Outlook, 1980-1981
• Soviet World Outlook, 1982-1984
• The Spectator, 12/1986
• Strategic Survey - International Institute of Strategic Studies, 1972-1974
• Strategic Survey - International Institute of Strategic Studies, 1975-1976
• Strategic Survey - International Institute of Strategic Studies, 1980-1981

Box 85 - Publications File

• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 10/1963
• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 4/1964
• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 4/1965
• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 7/1965
• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 1985
• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 8/1987
• Survey - Journal of Soviet and East European Studies, 10/1988

Box 86 - Publications File

• Survival - International Institute of Strategic Studies, 1986
• Survival - International Institute of Strategic Studies, 1988
• Survival - International Institute of Strategic Studies, 1989
• U.S. Information Agency - Media Action Report - Western Europe, 1976
• The Washington Review - The Horn of Africa, 5/1978
• Washington University Magazine, 1987
• Week in Germany, 1982-1991 (1)
• Week in Germany, 1982-1991 (2)
• Week in Germany, 1982-1991 (3)
• White House - 1983 Arms Control Report
• White House - International Fisheries Agreement, 1983

Box 87 - Publications File

• White House - National Security Strategy of the United States, 1987, 1988, 1990
• White House - News and Comment - President's Daily News Summary, (1)
• White House - News and Comment - President's Daily News Summary, (2)
• White House - News and Comment - President's Daily News Summary, (3)
• White House - News and Comment - President's Daily News Summary, (4)
• White House - Nixon Address to UN, 10/23/1970
• White House - OMB Brief FY 1987

Box 88 - Publications File

• White House - OMB Brief FY 1988
• White House - Presidential Documents (Foreign Trips), 6/5/1972
• White House - Press Releases
• White House - Report to Congress, 2/9/1972 (1)
• White House - Report to Congress, 2/9/1972 (2)
• White House - SDI Report 1/1985
• White House - START Treaty, 12/1987
• White House - Strategic Forces Report 4/1983
• Wilson Center, 1986-1989
• World Policy Journal, Fall 1990